Luther on Music

Photo Courtesy of morguefile.com

Photo Courtesy of morguefile.com

This may seem totally random (this blog is called Stray Thoughts after all 🙂 ), but I came across a quote from Martin Luther about music, and that got me searching for what else he might have to say about music. I found these quotes but couldn’t find their source – if anyone knows, please do enlighten me.

Beautiful music is the art of the prophets that can calm the agitations of the soul; it is one of the most magnificent and delightful presents God has given us.

Next to the Word of God, the noble art of music is the greatest treasure in the world.

My heart, which is so full to overflowing, has often been solaced and refreshed by music when sick and weary.

You will find that from the beginning of the world [music] has been instilled and implanted in all creatures, individually and collectively. For nothing is without sound or harmony… Music is a gift and largesse of God, not a human gift. Praise through word and music is a sermon in sound.”

This was balm to my own heart as music minsters to me in a unique way. My husband and I have had many discussions about music in church. He prefers congregational singing, partly because he feels like he is participating. I enjoy congregational singing most of the time, but I have a hard time keeping my mind on the words. I “feel” (I hate to use that word but can’t think of a better one) more worshipful when listening to someone minister in music (what we sometimes call “special music,” but some object to that term). Arrangements for an individual or small group usually allow for more expressiveness in style than a congregational song, and the musician’s giftedness can enhance the message. For some reason I can fully focus on a song that someone else is singing or playing better than I can when I’m singing with others.

But either venue can and does glorify God and and ministers to our own hearts in the meantime. I am thankful to God for it and for those who minister in that way.

See also:
Songs in the Night
The Hidden Art of Homemaking on Music.
Sing! Sing a Song

3 thoughts on “Luther on Music

  1. My husband and his siblings are very talented musically and worship music is a big part of our ministry. I am behind the scenes with the overhead. But I love to sing along and worship. Someday, we will all be singing together and worshiping at the Throne!

  2. I love the quote you found….Music suits many of my moods and then sometimes silence speaks to me….I have been moved to tears in church by the choir’s or ensemble’s special music….Growing up, my parents took us to all-night gospel performances that featured many quartets or groups. I love that good old Gospel music still but I also enjoy praise music…..I am thankful for this gift God has given us to enjoy.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

