Friday’s Fave Five

FFF birds on a wire

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week, a wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

Another Friday, another opportunity to look back over the blessings of the last week. Here are a few of mine:

1. A gender reveal party to find out what our new grandchild is going to be. A friend of my son and daughter-in-law made this adorable cake:

gender cake

The filling inside would be pink or blue, indicating girl or boy. And, it’s going to be…

baby gender

A boy! I think all of us were thinking girl for some reason, so we’ve had to adjust our thinking. We got to see the latest ultrasound pictures and we’re very much looking forward to meeting this little guy in a few months!

2. Flowers. My daughter-in-law’s mom was here this last weekend and brought some flowers when she came for the gender-reveal party. I thought they were pretty but didn’t look at them too closely because I was getting things ready for the party. Then one day this week I walked by and caught a whiff of carnation, probably my favorite floral smell. Most flowers make me sneezy and sniffle if I smell much of them, but not carnations. And pink ones even! Having flowers in the house in January, especially, brightens up winter days.

photo(7)
3. A new car for my oldest son. He’s had his car for over 10 years and was saving up to replace it next year, but the car has been having one problem after another, has broken down and had to be towed several times just in the last few months, and he finally decided not to put any more money into fixing it. He and my husband and a friend did a lot of car shopping online and in both our towns, and he finally found one he likes and can afford with a high reliability rating. That’s such a big relief.

4. A call from a dear friend of 30+ years. It’s so good to touch base and catch up with each other.

5. Glad for things that didn’t happen. It has been bitterly cold this week, but thankfully no precipitation to make driving treacherous and no broken pipes. And they say these hard freezes kill off some of the bug population, so I’m happy there will be that fringe benefit this spring and summer. 🙂

Happy Friday!

13 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Such an interesting trend these days for unique ways to announce the gender of your baby. Fun times. Congrats to all. That bitter cold can really wreak havoc. I’m so glad you were spared. Blessings!

  2. what a fun idea! A gender reveal party! I will have to remember this one! Maybe I will get to use it in the near future. Having fresh flowers this time of year is a cheerful addition to your room. So thankful there was no precipitation this week! I have had my fill of the fluffy variety!

  3. I’m all for killing off those bugs. What a fun gender reveal party. And congrats on an grandson. Hope you have a great week ahead!

  4. What a great week you had! The gender-reveal party is cute, sweet and fun and so is the cake. How exciting to touch base and catch up with a friend. I love experiencing that too.

  5. Very cute cake. Funny that you all thought it would be a girl and out comes blue icing.

    Flowers certainly do perk up the home during winter and carnations are one of my favorites too.

  6. Such a cute idea!! A little grandboy on the way – for us too.

    Beautiful flowers – I try to always have a bouquet in winter. They’re so cheery!

    I’m with you when it comes to freezing temps and killing bugs. let it get good and cold!! Those mosquitoes can ruin a lovely summer evening!

    Happy weekend!

  7. Love love that cake — such a cute idea. And a fun way to find out about the baby’s gender. Carnations are among my favorite floral fragrance, too, Barbara. I like #4 fave — those are always such a highlight.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

