Made to Crave Bible Study

Made to CraveSome months ago I saw that Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire With God, Not Food by Lisa TerKeurst was free or only a couple of dollars for Kindle apps at the time. I had seen many around the Internet say good things about it, so I bought it, and it lay languishing with all my other Kindle purchases. 🙂 But I saw a note on my friend Kim’s blog that the Proverbs 31 Ministries was hosting a Bible study using Made to Crave beginning this week, so I signed up for it as a way to motivate myself to get into the book.

Several years ago I started a different blog, I Corinthians 10:31, to deal with weight loss issues because I didn’t want that subject to take over here. I decided to post my thoughts or things that stood out to me in each chapter of Made To Crave over there, again, so it doesn’t take up so much space here (we’re doing three chapters this first week; I don’t know if we’ll keep that pace throughout). I will probably post a general review of the book here when I finish it, but if you’re interested in following along with the individual chapters, they’re there under the label Made to Crave study.

I don’t think it’s too late to join in the online Made to Crave study at Proverbs 31 Ministries if anyone is interested – we’re only on the second chapter today. I’m not sure if I will stay with the study there, as there is a little more hoopla than I like, but I know some people go for that. The “extras” – Twitter parties and such – are not required to participate in the study: they’re just there for people who want those extras. But whether I continue with that particular venue or not, I will continue with the book and jotting notes on each chapter at I Corinthians 10:31.

11 thoughts on “Made to Crave Bible Study

  1. I have really enjoyed and benefited from Made To Crave and her other book Unglued. I bought the kindle devo…it cuts up the best of the book into little chunks that are great reminders!

  2. I agree with you about hoopla, twitter etc. but I am so glad you are doing this. I first found you years ago when I was reviewing Isabel Kuhn’s books for our church. I appreciate your blog very much and I have never said thank you before. So thank you for sharing your Christian walk with me. Blessings, Anne

  3. Ha — loved your line about a little more hoopla than you would like. I totally relate! I’m about ready to quit one group I’ve been stalking for just that reason. The book does look like it’s worth checking into, though — thank you.

  4. I have picked up this book and set it down again I don’t know how many times at the bookstore as I have with her other book, Unglued. I don’t know why I’m hesitating. I think I’ll go for it next time. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I went over and read them on the other blog.

  5. Barbara, I have a question about reading. I find I have a difficult time balancing reading fiction with other Christian reading. I think I crave the escape almost more than food. How do you balance that? For me, I have give up fiction for periods of time.

    • It has helped me to make up lists of what I want to read. Someone online used to host a Spring Reading Thing and Fall Into Reading, and that’s where I got started planning to incorporate nonfiction and classics into my reading. That person doesn’t host them any more – I think someone else may have taken it up. But this year I saw some reading challenges that I decided to participate in. One was about classics, one was nonfiction, one was for reading things we already have on our shelves, one was reading Christian nonfiction from people who have gone on to heaven. Thankfully I could use books for more than one challenge. Most of the books on my shelves that I haven’t read yet are nonfiction, so that will be a challenge for me, but I am excited about it.

      I tend to gravitate toward fiction, too, and I don’t think that’s wrong, necessarily, unless it’s interfering with other things I should be doing or the attention I need to give to people.

      • Thank you for answer to my question about fiction. I think for me that I spend too much time thinking about fictional characters when I could be praying or doing more Bible study. My most recent fictional book was Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline. I found this book to be compelling about a little known part of American history. The book doesn’t show many Christians in a good light buts points to the social evils in every generation. I wonder if you have read it.

        • I haven’t read that one but I have read books about the orphan train. One wasn’t from a Christian standpoint (I don’t remember the name of it) but Belonging by Robin Lee Hatcher is a good Christian fiction tale of someone who came from an orphan train (I reviewed it here: https://barbarah.wordpress.com/2012/01/11/book-review-belonging/)

          I think it is normal to think about characters in a book for a while while reading or even after the book is done. Like anything else, it can go too far – I guess each person has to decide between themselves and the Lord where those boundaries are.

          On Sat, Feb 1, 2014 at 9:53 AM, Stray Thoughts

          • Thanks so much for answering my questions. I will definitely look up the book you recommended by Robin Hatcher. I have the same issue with fiction that I have with food I guess. Interesting that the Lord seems to be showing me this as I am trying to do the Made To Crave Bible Study. I think I am going to try the Laura Ingalls challenge. You are such an example to me as you seem to balance so many interests and manage to keep your Christian walk on track.
            Thanks again. I bought the “The Fruitful Wife” and I agree with you that it is a book to be read and reread. The last fruit, self control is difficult for me and I know that the Lord is showing me that I do not always put him first and I want to be in control. So now I have confessed and I am going to work on repenting with His gracious help. Blessings, Anne

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

