Friday’s Fave Five

FFF birds on a wire

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week, a wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

This has been a fairly balanced week between getting some things done yet not feeling pressured and overburdened to get things done. Here are some of the highlights of the week:

1. Good weather. Not only did we not get predicted bad weather this week, but we actually had sunshine! Or at least more than we’ve had in a while. Does my heart good.

2. Rest. I wasn’t feeling well Sunday – nothing major, but it was enough that I needed to stay home from church. We’re not legalistic about Sunday activities, but I do try to keep it a day of rest as much as possible by not doing anything around the house that doesn’t absolutely have to be done, so I felt free to just rest, doze, and read off and on all day rather than feeling like I needed to be up doing something, and it was so refreshing.

3. A decorating dilemma solved. I had some more formal, elegant candle holders, wedding gifts from dear friends, on the mantel in the family room, along with some birdhouses, which are a bit more casual. I didn’t feel the candle holders “fit” there, but I didn’t want to move them until I had something to replace them, and I wasn’t sure where to put them. Our living room is a bit dressier, but much smaller than in our previous house, so there was no place for them there. I went out to Hobby Lobby this week and found this neat little piece:

photo(3)

It was on sale half-price, but even then was a bit more than I wanted to spend…but I had a gift card for HL from Christmas, so I let it be my Christmas present. 🙂 It fits in nicely with the rest, I think:

photo(5)

Next decorating project: replacing the plaque over the mantel. Love it (and I do have another place in mind for it), but it’s out of proportion to everything else. I do have some ideas – just have to decide which one to use.

The candle holders found a home on top of my desk:

photo(6)

I probably should put candles in them, huh? 🙂 The little angel figurine, by the way, was originally in a dish garden arrangement that my mom had sent to me for Valentine’s Day in college ages ago, and the little wooden house on the mantel was made by Jim’s dad.

4. Getting just a bit of sorting and organizing done: just the basket on my desk and the most-used drawer of my desk, but it felt good to get them in order.

5. Another problem solved: finding a way to turn my mother-in-law’s nightgowns into hospital-type gowns. Easier to dress and undress her, and more comfortable, too.

Overall a good week! I hope yours was, too.

16 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I have some much needed redecorating that needs to be done. I just don’t have that flare for pulling things together. Your spaces both look very nice!

    Our weather has been a roller coaster here this week upper 40’s one day and mid 20’s the next…today is sunny and 24*!

    Glad you got a day of rest. We too are trying to keep Sunday as a day to catch up. When we were younger we weren’t able to as much with so much to do on the farm.

    I am working on sorting and organizing too. Mostly while I get tax stuff together. {{sigh}} It will be over soon, right?!

  2. Oh i love your mantel!!! That’s my kind of style!! My next decorating project is a photo collage of some hikes…it’s a little overwhelming because I have so many pics to choose from! But it’s a good winter thing to do. I happy you had days of sun…..we had a couple but not many although the weather has been more like March! Enjoy your weekend and another Sabbath and hope you are feeling better.

  3. What a pleasure it is to read your Fave Five post….I have Birdhouses in the living room also, and wallpaper border with birdhouses. I’m thinking of changing up some things. I have only one of my Cross Stitch pictures hanging. Seems a shame to spend all that money for framing and then not hang them up. Also, cleaning and reorganizing a bit.
    Have a blessed weekend.
    Mama Bear

  4. That’s a sweet little decoration and fits perfectly. Don’t you love when you find something perfect AND on sale!

    I’ve been doing some organizing too – it feels good!

    We’re enjoying the springtime weather too – a nice break from all the storms!

    Happy weekend!

  5. Oh, I totally love your mantle decorations — cheery and welcoming and comfy. Isn’t it so nice when things fit right in? Every bit of organizing feels good, doesn’t it? So glad you’ve had a little sunshine. If you would just send that rain our way, we’ll be all set!

  6. Glad you are feeling better, Barbara. I find that I am also more refreshed for the week when I have a Sabbath day each week although mine is usually Friday since I work on Sundays.

    You truly have a gift for decorating and finding the perfect spot for things. Too bad you didn’t live closer, I’d hire you to make some spots in my home more beautiful. 🙂

    You are so creative. I love how you turned a nightgown into a hospital gown. Not only does it save money to alter the gown, this is a great idea if the night gown has sentimental value.

    Have a great weekend.

  7. The little bird tree goes perfectly with the bird houses! Glad to hear that little extra time of rest was just the thing to make you feel better. Sometimes we just don’t allow our bodies to have that rest that it needs at the time. We just keep pushing through and wonder why it takes so long to feel better.

    Making those changes to the nightgown was genius!

  8. I’m late again this week–but enjoyed your FFFs. Love that little wooden tree and birds–it goes great with the rest of the items.
    Sometimes a day of rest is just that–resting for a day.

  9. I really like the way your mantle turned out. Hobby Lobby has the cutest stuff! It always feels good to get things organized and looking pretty. Have a great week!

  10. Just catching up after my full week with my Mum (yes, it’s Willow :o) … Love your little wooden tree and birds! And yes, it does feel so freeing to declutter a drawer or basket here and there. :o) Glad I came by to visit a bit late because I got to enjoy your post on Bonhoeffer. I will certainly get that book from the library- he was such an extraordinary man!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

