TBR Challenge

I appreciated my friend Lisa‘s comment on my post about book challenges last week about the struggle with balance between wanting to be intentional in reading yet not wanting to feel hemmed in. I struggle with that, too. There are some books I’d never get around to reading without some of these challenges and lists, but I don’t want to have so many lists that I’m feeling overly pressured. I know sometimes God has directed me to a book I needed right at the moment that wasn’t on my radar, and I want to leave room for that and for the just-for-fun books (because I read both to learn and to relax.)

2014tbrbuttonI’ve been pondering for a few days what to list for the 2014 TBR Pile Challenge hosted by Roof Beam Reader. The challenge is to read 12 books in a year that have been on your shelves unread with a publication date before 2013. I chafe a little bit at that because I have books on my shelves published last year that I want to get to, and books I just got for Christmas that have pre-2013 publication dates but are new to me. But I do understand the need for guidelines of some kind, or else this would be just a general reading list. So I am trying to keep within the spirit of the post and choose books that I’ve had on my shelves or in my Kindle app for a while now. I came up with a list of 25, and that’s not including a box of books in my closet that I had forgotten about. 😳 So from those I’m narrowing it down to this list of 12, with two allowable alternate titles in case I decide against any of the others during the year (as per instructions, as I finish each book and review it, I’m adding the link to that review to the titles below):

1. Made to CraveSatisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food by Lisa TerKeurst (pub. 2010). Proverbs 31 Ministries is hosting a study of this book beginning Jan. 19, so I’ll be joining in that. (Finished March 1, 2014)

2. Crowded to Christ by L. E. Maxwell (pub. 1952), recommended by a former pastor. (Finished April 7)

3. Ida Scudder: Healing Bodies, Touching Hearts by Janet and Geoff Benge (pub. 2012). I had read a biography of hers (though not this one) some 25-30 years ago and wanted to refresh myself on her story. (Finished Feb. 3)

4. The House Is Quiet, Now What? by Janice Hanna and Kathleen Y’Barbo (pub. 2009). The subtitle is Rediscovering Life and Adventure As a Empty Nester. My nest isn’t totally empty yet, and I don’t see a shortage of things to do for a long time to come, but figured this would be helpful with perspective. One sentence I saw while flipping through it really spoke to me (about the “sandwich generation”), so I am looking forward to this. I had thought Lisa recommended this one, but maybe that was a different book. (Finished March 10)

5. How to Read Slowly by James W. Sire (pub. 1978). Even with making notes and marking with sticky tabs. I have a hard time feeling like I’ve really grasped everything I need to from nonfiction, so I am hoping this will help in that regard. (Finished July 20)

6. How to Be a Writer by Barbara Baig (pub. 2010). I like to read a book about writing every now and then to keep those embers stirred.

7. Walking From East to West: God in the Shadows by Ravi Zacharias (pub. 2009), because Sherry recommended it to me and because I like hearing how people came to the Lord, among other reasons. (Finished March 16)

8. The Great Divorce by C. S. Lewis (pub. 1946). I’ve read Narnia, the Space Trilogy, and Mere Christianity and now want to read some other Lewis books. (Finished May 6)

9. Loving the Church by John Crotts (pub. 2010), sent to me by Carrie a long time ago. 😳 (Finished June 17)

10. The Book of Three by Alexander Lloyd (pub. 2006), first book in the Prydain Chronicles, recommended by Janet. (Finished June 30)

11. Wednesdays Were Pretty Normal: A Boy, Cancer, and God by Michael Kelley (pub 2012). (Finished May 21)

12. Why We Are Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be by Kevin DeYoung and Ted Kluck (pub. 2008), partly because I have never heard anybody adequately explain what the emergent movement is, and I’ve heard this is a good critique. (Finished October 15)

Alternates: Girl in the Gatehouse by Julie Klassen (Finished Aug. 31) and Just Jane: A Novel of Jane Austen’s Life by Nancy Moser (Finished Aug. 4). (My wrap-up post for this challenge is here: https://barbarah.wordpress.com/2014/12/15/reading-challenge-wrap-up/)

You notice how many of these are nonfiction. That’s probably why they have been languishing on my shelves. 😳 I gravitate to fiction and biographies: I like nonfiction when I read it, but I usually have to “make” myself read it. So this list will be a challenge in more ways than one!

As per Roof Beam Reader’s instructions, when I finish and review each book, I’ll make its title above into a link to the review.

Nonfiction Challenge hosted at The Introverted ReaderLisa mentioned on her reading challenges post this morning a Nonfiction Reading Challenge which I hadn’t seen but given all the nonfiction  have listed here, I figured I may as well join up. 🙂

The Challenge:  Read any non-fiction book(s), adult or young adult. That’s it. You can choose anything. Memoirs? Yes. History? Yes. Travel? Yes. You get the idea? Absolutely anything that is classified as non-fiction counts for this challenge.

I always like levels in my challenges, so here are mine:

Dilettante–Read 1-5 non-fiction books

Explorer–Read 6-10

Seeker–Read 11-15

Master–Read 16-20

This challenge will last from January 1 to December 31, 2014. You can sign up anytime throughout the year.

With the books listed about plus a couple of others I want to read this year, I am aiming for the Seeker level.

Do you have books that have been on your “To Be Read” shelves for a while? Maybe you’ll consider joining in with challenge with us, and we can encourage each other along the way.

18 thoughts on “TBR Challenge

  1. Whoo,boy, don’t even ask. I have an under the bed long box that is full and a basket in my closet that is stacked 3 times it’s height. I’d say probably about 60 – 70 books. Yeah, where’s the button for the little embaressed face? My problem is I see books that I’ve wanted to read on sale at the library for a couple of bucks and can’t resist them. And then I keep borrowing as well. Sigh.

    • That’s why I don’t go to the library, LOL! I know I’d come out with an armful of books. If I check something out I usually reserve it online first and then just pick it up at the desk. Maybe when I finish some of these I’ll feel free to roam around the library again. 🙂

      And after I wrote this I remembered another couple of boxes in another closet….

  2. Last year I read Walking From East to West: God in the Shadows by Ravi Zacharias, after it was recommended by one of the ladies you interviewed in the ORBC ladies publication you put together monthly. Biographies are my favorites and I found it especially interesting since I like to listen to the author on the radio. I hope you do read it.

  3. What a great idea for a challenge!

    I’m giggling at the Loving the Church comment. As you can see from my post yesterday – I finally read a book that Annette sent me TWO YEARS AGO! I sure felt pathetic about that! I’d say you’re doing great. 😀

  4. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: January 2014 | Stray Thoughts

  5. Pingback: Upcoming Reading Challenges | Stray Thoughts

  6. Pingback: Reading Challenge Update | Stray Thoughts

  7. Pingback: Reading Challenge Update | Stray Thoughts

  8. Pingback: Book Review: The Great Divorce | Stray Thoughts

  9. Pingback: Book Review: Wednesdays Were Pretty Normal | Stray Thoughts

  10. Pingback: Reading Challenge Updates. | Stray Thoughts

  11. Pingback: Book Review: Loving the Church | Stray Thoughts

  12. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: June 2014 | Stray Thoughts

  13. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: July 2014 | Stray Thoughts

  14. Pingback: Reading Challenge Update | Stray Thoughts

  15. Pingback: Book Review: Why We Are Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be | Stray Thoughts

  16. Pingback: Reading Challenge Wrap-Up | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

