Friday’s Fave Five

FFF birds on a wire

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week, a wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

The first FFF of the new year! As much as I loved all the activity of Christmas week, Monday I got hit with a wave of extreme tiredness, and I’ve been glad this week has been quieter. Monday I got the worst haircut of my life (no, I didn’t take any pictures of it), Tuesday I went to a different place to try to get it fixed, and Wednesday I finagled with it a bit and finally got it to an acceptable style. We took down the Christmas decorations Wednesday, always a combination of relief and wistfulness. Except for the hair fiasco, it’s been a pleasant week. Here are some highlights:

1. Sharing the news that I’m becoming a grandmother this summer. I actually knew about it a few weeks ago, but didn’t want to say anything until Jason and Mittu were ready for the news to go public.

2. Sous-vide cooking. My son discovered this, a way of cooking food in plastic bags in water in a slow cooker at a regulated even temperature. He built his own mechanism, and my husband thought it looked like a good idea and asked for one for Christmas. So far he has tried steaks and ribs in it.

1014251_10202672432948997_1913183469_n

3. Jim’s glasses. Those who have been reading here the last year know that my husband had surgery for retinal detachment back in April, and his vision got steadily worse ever since until he had cataract surgery in the same eye a few weeks ago. He finally was able to get prescription glasses, and while his eyesight is still not the same as it was before the detached retina, it’s much improved and much of the constant eyestrain is gone.

4. New calendars. I love putting fresh new calendars up in January with its pages blank except for birthdays.

5. The winter solstice, which actually was last week, just because I know that after it the days start getting longer. Even though it doesn’t look like we’re getting any more daylight yet, just knowing that it’s happening is a boon.

Hope you’ve had a great week as well, and I wish you a wonderful 2014!

13 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I’ve had a couple of bad haircuts, and they are certainly no fun at all! I bet you are excited about the arrival of a new grandchild. Summer will be here before you know it! I’m glad you husbands eyesight has improved. Keep praying for a miracle.

  2. I am super excited about you becoming a grandma! Praying for your husbands eyes! Vision is such a precious thing! I love getting the new calendar and filling it up with all the birthdays and events!
    Great visiting with you today!

  3. oh I can sooo relate to the bad haircuts…been there done that! Yay for your news of becoming a grandmother…so exciting! I praise God that your husband’s eyesight is improving! and I too love a brand new calendar…only thing on mine so far is a dental appt and birthdays! Happy FFF and Happy New Year!

  4. Being a grandmother was ONE of the highlights of 2014. I bet you will be an awesome grandma, Barbara.

    Sous-vide cooking sounds interesting. How brilliant your son is to be able to make his own mechanism.

    Hurray for new calendars. I usually get one for Christmas and this year I didn’t. Guess it is time to go shopping.

    Have a happy weekend.

  5. I’m rather envious of your sous-vide. The concept is great and I’d love to try–but I’m not one for spending money on, well, almost anything, so I probably won’t be getting any new equipment anytime soon.

    A grandchild will be just wonderful–I know you’ll enjoy a new little one.

  6. Bad haircuts are a drag, that’s for sure. My last haircut, though not bad, wasn’t quite what I liked so I just go back and get her to adjust it more to what I want. That was such exciting news about becoming a grandmother. Congrats to Jason and Mittu!

    Sad to see Christmas go but glad to get rid of the extra clutter and get back to some semblance of a routine. Glad to hear that Jim’s eyesight is better. Happy New Year, Barbara!

  7. I’m with you on being happy about passing the winter solstice. It’s a mental boost for me knowing that the days ARE getting longer again, especially when it seems so cold and dark.

    I still have my old calendar up because I’ve been too lazy to transfer over the birthdays yet to my new calendar. 🙂 Maybe tonight?

  8. Oh, that sous-vide cooking sounds very cool. I’d been following the various cooking sites to see how people fared with the method. You’ll have to write more later when you all have had more time with it.

    I’m glad you managed to rescue your haircut. And lengthening days? Definitely a fave.

  9. First time visiting from Susanne’s Fave Five- congratulations on the news of becoming a grandmother! I do so love a fresh calendar- all the exciting possibilities and hopes in those blank pages. :o)

  10. Good news about your hubby’s eyesight! Although we do get more sun than most Americans, I still cheer too when I know the days are getting longer after the Winter Solstice.
    Hurray for becoming a grandma!
    Happy New Year!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

