What’s On Your Nightstand: December 2013

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

December has been a busy month with not as much reading as usual, but that’s ok – January will be a good time to snuggle in and catch up!

Since last time I have completed:

The Healer’s Apprentice by Melanie Dickerson, reviewed here.

Granny Brand, Her Story, missionary to India and the mother of Paul Brand, by Dorothy Clarke Wilson, reviewed here.

Save Me From Myself: How I Found God, Quit Korn, Kicked Drugs, and Lived to Tell My Story by Brian Welch, reviewed here.

Praying for Your Addicted Loved One by Sharron K. Cosby, recommended by Joyful Reader, reviewed here.

When Mother Was Eleven-Foot-Four by Jerry Camery-Hoggatt, reviewed here.

A Wreath of Snow: A Victorian Christmas Novella by Liz Curtis Higgs, reviewed here.

The Women of Christmas: Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna by Liz Curtis Higgs, reviewed here.

Well, I actually got more done than I thought!

I’m currently reading:

A Tale of Two Cities (audiobook) by Charles Dickens for Carrie’s Reading to Know Book Club for November.

Throughout the year I have been reading devotional books A Quiet Place by Nancy Leigh DeMoss, One Year Christian History by E. Michael and Sharon Rusten, and Daily Light on the Daily Path, and I haven’t felt the need to mention them month to month, but I’ll finish them by the end of the year.

Next up:

Lost and Found by Ginny Yttrup

Jennifer: An O’Malley Love Story by Dee Henderson (I’ve had these two books on my TBR list for months – hope to get to them this month!

Ten Fingers For God about Paul Brand by Dorothy Clarke Wilson

Traveling Toward Sunrise by Mrs. Charles E. Cowman, given to me by a friend.

The Blue Castle by L. M. Montgomery for Carrie’s Reading to Know Classic Book Club and her L. M. Montgomery Reading Challenge in January.

If I should get through all of those…I have plenty more stacked up!

What are you reading?

3 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: December 2013

  1. Looking forward to your thoughts on Ten Fingers for God. Paul Brand was in Philip Yancey’s book about Christians who have inspired him. What a richly invested life!

    Merry Christmas!

  2. I still want to get Save Me From Myself. That one sounded really great! (not so much the suffering one goes through but the Victory in Jesus!) I agree December wasn’t the greatest month for reading but as you said January is always a good month for that. I too am working through A Tale of Two Cities. Wish I had it on audio…have struggled keeping it together!

    Wishing you and yours a very Merry Christmas!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

