Friday’s Fave Five

christmas FFF

 

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week, a wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

Whew! What a busy week! After thinking last week that the schedule of Christmas-related tasks was going pretty well, I hit a couple of snags this week that threw me behind and made for one stressful day in particular. I’m making adjustments to plans as I go along, and I think everything will be fine. Here are some highlights of the last week:

1. A quiz and a pen. Our Sunday School teacher gives a Christmas quiz every December, a series of questions about the Christmas story in the Bible, designed as a way to get us to spend time in those passages. For prizes for the top three “students” who get the most points, he makes little gifts using his woodworking skills: an ornament, key chain, yo-yo, pen, etc. I think our first year here I came in third and got the yo-yo, but really wanted the pen. 🙂 I haven’t placed in the top three since then, but this year I came in first and got the pen. 🙂 It helped a lot that the couple who usually gets first place (often coming in at #1 and 2) was absent on quiz day this year. 🙂

2. Carolers. On Wednesday night this week our church members divided up into groups and each group went to visit one of the at-home members who, due to age or illness, can’t make it to services. We enjoyed their visit to my mother-in-law. They also brought her a nice gift basket.

photo

3. Christmas card garland. I mentioned on my Christmas meme that I had wanted to hang the Christmas cards we received on a garland this year, and got that done this week. I love being able to look at and enjoy the Christmas cards throughout the weeks until Christmas.

photo(2)

By the way, feel free to join in on the Christmas meme if you have time!

4. The first harvest loaf cake of the season!

5. Christmas devotions. I’ve been reading The Women of Christmas by Liz Curtis Higgs per my friend Kim‘s suggestion, and it has been just what I wanted this year. I’ll have more to say about it next week.

Hope you have a great weekend!

9 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Congrats on winning the pen! I think I might try your Christmas garland idea sometime. I never know what to do with cards.

    Thanks for sharing the Harvest Loaf recipe. I happen to have pumpkin in my cabinet. Maybe I will be able to make some soon.

  2. You got the pen this year! Yay!

    How sweet that your church came caroling for your mother-in-law. I’m sure she enjoyed it!

    The Christmas card garland is a great idea. I’m going to do something next Christmas with all the cards I have saved up.

  3. Congrats on the pen win! Love the idea of carolers going to those who cannot get out! What a blessing that is. I feel very behind this year, especially with the blogging department. I just can’t seem to regularly get to it this year. Oh well. A new year is coming! Merry Christmas, Barbara!

  4. I need to see a picture of the pen – congrats on coming first. That reminds me of an episode when I was maybe 9 years old. I really wanted a worm bookmark offered as a gift if we could memories all the books in the NT. I worked so hard, and did get the worm! 🙂 I can still see the worm in my mind, but I have since lost it.

  5. The Christmas card garland looks so festive! Maybe I’ll use that idea next year!

    Hurray on winning 1st prize!

    Merry Christmas!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

