Friday’s Fave Five

christmas FFF

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week, a wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

It’s beginning to look and feel and sound a lot more like Christmas! Here are a few highlights since last week:

1. Ladies’ Christmas party. The Christmas party for our ladies from church was last Friday, and I especially enjoyed the fellowship and the testimonies. A favorite moment: the songleader asked us for favorite Christmas carols to sing, and someone volunteered “As the Deer.” The songleader gently explained that we wanted Christmas songs, and someone said, “As the Reindeer, then.” 🙂

2. The children’s Christmas program at church was Sunday night. They always do the Nativity story and sing various songs, and it’s always cute, especially the littlest ones dressed up in pajama-type costumes to represent the animals in the stable. This year it seemed like there were a record number of parents there from our church’s van ministry whose children come to the children’s ministry, and I pray that the gospel message found its way to their hearts.

3. Online shopping. Love it! Much nicer than traveling place to place to place to shop, though I do like to get out and about for Christmas shopping a little bit. And then all the packages coming in the mail as a result is fun, too. 🙂

4. Progress. When I realized that, with the lateness of Thanksgiving this year, we had just a few short weeks until Christmas, I almost started to panic, but this week I got most of my shopping done (thanks to online shopping! 🙂 ) and am almost finished with my Christmas cards and letters, so I am feeling pretty good about the Christmas schedule now.

5. Cake pops. Just discovered these yesterday. I had been wanting something chocolate and cakey, but I don’t dare buy or bake a whole cake for just the three of us, and when I saw this, I thought, “That’s it! Just what I want!”

nlHappy Friday!

10 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I made a pan of brownies last week and I’m sure I’m the one who ate most of it. Sigh. I tried online shopping for a couple of gifts for the first time this year. I hope it turns out to be a good experience. I’m always so leary because if they use courier to ship it here to me in Canada from the U.S., I always get hit with ridiculously high customs charges at the door. Ladies Christmas parties and children’s Christmas programs are always a highlight of the season for me. The “reindeer” comment made me smile. Now that’s thinking quick on one’s feet!

  2. I am finding that the things I miss about a larger church (the fellowships and the Christmas programs) are what is missing in our tiny church. {{sigh}} The Lord knows where we need to be and I know He will get us there (maybe it is where we are). I know what you mean about just a small bit of something chocolatey! Not an entire cake!

  3. For the first time this year I also discovered online shopping for Christmas gifts ! I found what I wanted and a week later I had it ! Just great!
    Today I will decorate the tree, Mr. G. put it up yesterday, we have a fake one because of the cats ! (that’s a good excuse, lol)

  4. I may have something ‘cakey’ during the holidays at home next week. The ‘reindeer’ made me smile. I still haven’t gotten around online shopping though I’ve been thinking about it for some time. Maybe I’ll find the time for it next year.

  5. Love online shopping too! Makes things so much easier and saves time and gas!

    I’ve never tired cake pops but I’d like to. I’ll keep my eye out for something like that.

    Cute story about the song – I laughed 🙂

    I had my Ladies Christmas party this week – it was lovely. And our Sunday School Christmas program is supposed to be tomorrow but they’re predicting a big storm. 😦 We’ll have to squeeze it in with the choir Cantata next week.

  6. Oh i love your first fave…made me chuckle!! I’m done shopping too thanks to the internet and one short trip to a mall…..and a visit to some charming shops in a small Vermont village in October! I still need to do some cards but I’ll work on those tomorrow after church. I LOVE chocolate but not cake but those little cake pops look perfect!!

  7. I haven’t done ANY baking, but guess what! I have a kitchen full of cookies and goodies!
    Hats off to you for being almost finished with your Christmas shopping AND sending cards. I’m not done with either. This is the week!

  8. Goodness, I’m waaaay behind! Though I read your post on Friday, it’s taken a while to get back to comment. Roomie and I had a good laugh with #1 for sure! Like you, I’m thankful for online shopping, too.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

