A New Christmas Meme

Do any of you remember when bloggers used to do this kind of thing all the time – make up memes or questionnaires that others could chime in on or use on their own blogs? Those were fun – I guess maybe people just don’t have time for them as much as they once did.

But some fun questions came to mind this week, so I thought I’d make up a new one. If you’d like to copy these questions and use them on your own blog, you are welcome to. I’d appreciate a link back with acknowledgement as the originator of it, but it’s not like I am going to hunt you down if you don’t. šŸ™‚ If you’d like to answer in the comments, or just leave a comment without answering the questions yourself, or just choose a few of the questions, that’s fine as well.

422284_christmas_ornaments

Ā What is your favorite Christmas song? Hymn: “Infant Holy, Infant Lowly.” Secular: “I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas.”

Favorite Christmas special/movie? Charlie Brown Christmas, White Christmas.

What kind of special goodies do you make in December? Harvest Loaf Cake is a must.

Harvest Loaf cake

I also sometimes make gingerbread teddy bears:

We used to do decorated sugar cookies when the kids were little, mainly for fun and the experience of it, but I was never particularly good at those and marveled at how some of my friends could make them look so beautiful.

Favorite Christmas beverage? Apple cider. It’s not exclusive to Christmas, of course, but that’s usually when I have it. The rest of the family likes eggnog, but I think it’s nasty stuff.

How many Christmas parties do you usually attend? Usually just two, the church ladies’ Christmas party and our adult Sunday School Christmas party. This year we’re putting off the SS one until January both to reduce some of the busyness of the season plus to have something to look forward to after it’s all over. In some years we’ve had choir or deacon Christmas parties, depending on what we were involved in during any given year. One friend used to have after-Christmas parties for the same reason mentioned earlier

Do you go Christmas caroling? Does anyone come Christmas caroling to your house? We don’t go caroling although we have occasionally in past years. Last year some folks from church went out caroling to all the “at-home” members who can’t make it out to services, and they included my mother-in-law for that at her assisted living place. She’s at our home now, and they are planning to do that again, so I imagine we’ll benefit from some carolers then.

What’s on your front door at Christmas? For the past 2 or 3 years it has been this wreath I made, inspired by one designed by Charlotte Lyons in Amy Powersā€™ Inspired Ideas Christmas magazine (p. 26).

When do you put the tree up and take it down? Nowadays we put it up after Thanksgiving because Jeremy is here then and the whole family can decorate together. We didn’t used to get it up until a couple of weekends into December, but I like doing it after Thanksgiving – we can enjoy it longer plus it’s less stressful to get it up earlier rather than mid-December when there are a ton of things going on (or used to be, when the kids were home and had Christmas programs, recitals, and parties both at school and church). We don’t have a particular time to take it down – just whenever we can get to it, usually within a week or so after Christmas.

Do you decorate with traditional red and green or with other colors? We have a variety of colors. I don’t have much red in my home, so I try to de-emphasize red a bit, but we do have both red and green as well as other colors. We have a lot of blue because the family room, where the Christmas tree is, has a lot of blue. There is also some silver and gold and white and a little pink. šŸ™‚ I have a little pink-decorated tree on my desk.

How many Christmas trees do you put up (large and small?) The main big one is in the family room.

photo

I have three little ones: the pink one I mentioned on my desk:

A miniature tree in the dining room on the dry sink:

And a small one on the living room end table in front of the window:

photo(1)

Are your Christmas tree decorations themed or hodgepodge? Hodgepodge. I like it that way. šŸ™‚ When I was growing up, a lot of families had a themed or more formally decorated tree in the living room (remember the white or aluminum ones with the circular multi-colored disk that would revolve and throw different colors onto it? We never had those but many did) and a more hodgepodge “family” tree in the family room. My own family always had just the family one.

Ham, turkey, both, or something else for Christmas dinner? Usually ham with cheesy potatoes, some kind of vegetable, rolls, and apple and pumpkin pie.

Favorite ham leftovers? Swiss Ham Ring Around:

cimg0311.JPG

Do you have any Christmas traditions that are unusual, out of the ordinary? Not that I can think of, except that we like to have these snacks during the Christmas season which aren’t in themselves Christmasy: Chicken in a Bisket crackers, spray cheese, and Pirouette cookies. Plus in our old house, there was a hook in the ceiling right above where we put the tree, where I guess the previous owners must have had a house plant or hanging lamp, and the boys would always put a snowflake ornament there above the tree. Our house now doesn’t have that, so they are creative about finding ways to hang that snowflake. And we continue to use some of our misfit ornaments – those are some of their favorites.

Otherwise we’re pretty traditional, I think. šŸ™‚

Do you display Christmas cards in particular way? I used to hang them up on a garland until we moved to a house where there wasn’t a place to hang one, so for a few years I kept them in a basket. This year we’ve found a place to hang a garland up again, so I am looking forward to having them displayed again. I enjoy having them out like that to enjoy more than the momentary opening. A lot of families have to just sending a Christmas letter instead of a card rather than in a card – I’ll probably keep those in a basket.

What do you do with the Christmas cards you received after the holidays are over? I’m actually asking this question to get some ideas. šŸ™‚ I hate to throw them away. I usually keep them in a stack for a while and then go through and throw some out and keep the particularly meaningful ones (if I kept every single one, they’d just end up in a box in the attic and no one would ever go through them). When the kids were little I kept them, thinking the next year we’d use them to cut off the fronts and make a collage – but we never got around to that. šŸ™‚

Christmas newsletters: Love ’em or hate ’em? I love them. I enjoy hearing what’s gone on with friends during the year. Some times they share things I didn’t know about, sometimes I enjoy reviewing in a condensed form what I already knew about.

There you have it! Let me know if you do these on your blog and I’ll come see what you have to say.

15 thoughts on “A New Christmas Meme

  1. Oh!! I’m coming back and doing this!

    Do you know what we made just the other day? Your gingerbread bears. And I thought of you! We’ve made these the past few years since you shared/sent the recipe (I forget which) and they are so fun! The kids love them, so thanks for sharing.

  2. I did it!

    http://www.readingtoknow.com/2013/12/christmas-meme.html

    And, oh well, I guess not everyone can like eggnog. šŸ™‚ (For a few years it would give me a stomach ache. But I have persevered and now I can drink it. I don’t know what that says about me!)

    I kept our Christmas cards one year as well, thinking we’d use them for art. We didn’t and I haven’t tried that since.

    That Swiss Ham Ring Around looks SO YUMMY!!!

    Thanks again for creating this! I had fun with it.

  3. Pingback: A Christmas Meme | Hope Is the Word

  4. Pingback: Christmas Meme « Girls in White DressesGirls in White Dresses

  5. Pingback: Friday’s Fave Five | Stray Thoughts

  6. In answer to your question about what to do with old Christmas cards. For the last several years (about 15 or so), we choose one of the cards and pray for whoever that card is from We try to pray for this person (family) for a week and then the next week we choose another card. After we have prayed for this person (family) during the week, I write a note to them to let them know we have been praying for them

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

