Friday’s Fave Five

FFF delicate leaves

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week, a wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

There is much to be thankful for this week!

1. Jeremy’s safe arrival. My oldest son was flying in Tuesday night when snow was in the forecast, and here in the South much shuts down due to snow because we don’t have the equipment to deal with it. Both of his flights were delayed but he did make it in, and we’ve been enjoying visiting.

2. A cozy baking day. It was snowing all day Wednesday, but not much was sticking. I baked a couple of kinds of cookies and an apple pie while visiting with Jim and Jeremy, who were at the kitchen table (or sometimes just listening to them talk.)

3. A freezer! We have never had one except the one built in with the refrigerator, though we have often talked about getting a free-standing one. My husband saw one on sale this week and cleared out a space in the garage for it and then went and got it. It’s nice to be able to store “extras” or buy bigger things like frozen pizzas that wouldn’t fit in our side-by-side.

4. A cute footstool. I have been wanting a little low footstool to use with my rocking chair in the bedroom. I wanted one that was small enough to put out of the way when not in use (otherwise I’d trip on it during the night). I looking around online for one to put on my Christmas wish list (we exchange those in our family) and found this one on Etsy. There was only one so I went ahead and bought it so I wouldn’t risk someone else buying it before Christmas (sorry, family!) It’s adorable.

footstool

5. Thanksgiving, of course – the opportunity to take more time than usual to think about what we’re thankful for, having all the family together, the wonderful smells coming from the kitchen all morning and the favorite Thanksgiving foods, time with family all the rest of the day, heated-up plates of leftovers or sandwiches in the evening…a wonderful day!

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. So far no snow yet and honestly I don’t miss it either. We are not very well equipped for a lot of snow in Belgium. We have a quiet big freezer even only for the two of us, but it allows me to go shopping only once a week and I freeze things like bread and I also have enough room for frozen vegetables, etc.

  2. You folks got snow and we got rain! A bit of a switcheroo.

    So glad your son made it home safely for Thanksgiving. Your time together sounds wonderful. And makes me hungry 🙂

    Sweet stool!

    Enjoy the rest of your holiday!

  3. Sounds like you had a wonderful week! I haven’t been on the computer much either the past few days with all the company. I post my giving thanks for the day and jump off! I am looking forward to getting around and catching up on everyone this weekend! Hope you have a restful weekend after the holiday!

  4. So many friends were waiting on pins and needles to see if their kids would arrive with all the weather delays and cancellations. Glad Jeremy made it. That little footstool is very sweet!

  5. How special that your men folk sat around the table and kept you company as you baked in the kitchen on Wednesday, Barbara! Glad that your son had a safe trip in even though there were delays.

  6. Oh, it is adorable! So nice to find something that just suits. Very pleased to hear about your son making it through all that weather. How thoughtful of your husband to be keeping an eye out for what your family needs.

  7. We got rain here but only on Friday. I’m glad Jeremy wasn’t stranded in an airport and made it home safely.
    The kitchen is truly the heart of the home!
    We don’t have a garage and no place to keep a freezer, but if we do, we will definitely be getting another freezer!
    I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving weekend!

  8. So glad Jeremy made it home safe and sound. Flight cancellations due to weather are not much fun to deal with. It’s blizzarding here as I type and I’m so glad no loved one is waiting on a plane around here.

    Wow, I’m amazed that you’ve never had a freezer. You’re going to love it. Buying things on sale and being able to freeze them is wonderful, as is making meals ahead of time and having them in the freezer ready to go on those tough days.

    Cute stool!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

