What’s On Your Nightstand: November 2013

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

Wow, I don’t know where November went. Unfortunately I don’t have a lot of reading to show for it…but then it has been a busy month.

Since last time I have completed:

The Chance by Karen Kingsbury was actually finished last time but not reviewed yet. That review is here.

A Severe Mercy by Sheldon Vanauken, about his love story with his wife, how they went from atheism to Christianity, her illness and death, and their friendship and correspondence with C. S. Lewis, reviewed here.

Little Women for Carrie’s Reading to Know Book Club for November. I did read (or listen to it) this month, but since I just reviewed it last December, I’m going to link to that review.

I still haven’t gotten to review Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy by Eric Metaxas, which I finished a couple of months ago. I had a lot of notes marked in it but may just write my thoughts and impressions rather than trying to sort through so much material.

In addition I posted a list of missionary biographies I have read and can recommend to you, along with some thoughts about reading missionary biographies, and a list of children’s missionary books.

I’m currently reading:

The Healer’s Apprentice by Melanie Dickerson

Granny Brand, Her Story, missionary to India and the mother of Paul Brand, by Dorothy Clarke Wilson. Almost done and should have a review up soon.

Save Me From Myself: How I Found God, Quit Korn, Kicked Drugs, and Lived to Tell My Story by Brian Welch. This was not at all on my radar but I saw both the Kindle and Audible version on sale and decided to see what it was all about. I am not sure what I think of it yet – I’ll let you know.

Praying for Your Addicted Loved One by Sharron K. Cosby, recommended by Joyful Reader. Very nearly done with this as well and like it a great deal.

Next up:

Lost and Found by Ginny Yttrup

Jennifer: An O’Malley Love Story by Dee Henderson

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens for Carrie’s Reading to Know Book Club for November.

Ten Fingers For God about Paul Brand by Dorothy Clarke Wilson

I like to read at least one Christmas book during December but don’t have one picked out yet. I have several books to read on my shelf and even more downloaded into my Kindle app. Maybe I’ll get some reading time next month – or maybe not. 🙂

9 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: November 2013

  1. Barbara, thank you for sharing about the books that are on your nightstand. I want to add Severe Mercy to my wish list on amazon because of the content matter.

  2. I’ll look forward to your review of Granny Brand. Since I love Paul Brand’s “Pain” book, I’m guessing that his mama has a great story herself.

    I read Brian Welch’s story a few years back myself. Very, very different life from my own. 🙂 But very, very encouraging to see how God can transform any of us.

  3. If you want a cozy, well written, feel good Christmas story, I recommend Remembering Christmas by Dan Walsh. I loved it! You can almost smell the coffee and cinnamon rolls!

  4. Oh my, so many books! I’m anxious to read your thoughts and impressions on the Bonhoeffer — I know what you mean; often when I read a long book I prefer to write those also rather than a “review” per se. Off to read your Little Women review. It’s been — wow — probably almost 40 years since I read that. Eek!

  5. I usually read “Two From Galilee” by Marjorie Holmes in December. I am not a big fan of the other books in the series, but I do like this one, Jan Karon’s Christmas book is a good read, too. I read John Grisham’s “Skipping Christmas” aloud to the family – editing words and a scene or two,

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

