Friday’s Fave Five

FFF delicate leaves

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week, a wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

It’s hard to believe it’s almost time for Thanksgiving and that November is almost over! This month has just flown. Here are some favorite parts of the last week or so:

1. My husband’s cataract surgery went well. Things are still healing, but already his vision has improved from what it was. It may never be perfect because of the wrinkle on his retina, unless that should work itself out, but it is better, and should improve more as the eye heals.

2. Kind comments and prayers for us concerning Jim’s surgery.

3. Help for ministry. I share this kind of thing as an encouragement to others and a praise to God. Most of you know I compile a newsletter for our ladies at church. I usually have that out the first Sunday of the month which, this month, comes up right after Thanksgiving. I needed to get it ready to print off by the beginning of next week because the church offices will be closed the latter half of the week (and I’ll have my own Thanksgiving things to do). So that was Job 1 this week – which was also the week of Jim’s surgery. I wanted to put a big dent in it Tuesday, and all morning one thing after another came up, so that I couldn’t even really get started. I was a bit discouraged, but the afternoon was blessedly quiet, and things just fell together with it. I’m all done now except for one part I am waiting on from someone else, and here I thought I’d be scrambling to get it done this week. Thank you, Lord!

4. Just-right weather. Our weather has been all over the place this fall. This week the thunderstorms and hail that had been forecast did not come to pass, and though the early mornings and evenings have been cold, the afternoons have been just like I like them. I am not a hiker, but if I were this would have been a perfect week for it.

5. C. S. Lewis. Most of the focus this week has been on the 50th anniversary of the death of JFK, and that was indeed an event that shook our nation. But someone else died that day, someone I had never heard of at the time but someone who was to have a much more profound influence on me and on others. C. S. Lewis passed away quietly 50 years ago today, and this is a nice tribute.

Happy Friday!

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. That’s nice to hear that your husband’s surgery went well. His sight will certainly improve more ! Our TV too is focused on the 50th anniversary of Kennedy’s death.

  2. Glad the surgery went well. That must be a huge relief to have the newsletter almost ready to go. Love it when things work out like that. I mentioned that C.S. Lewis died on the same day as JFK, too, on my 5 today. Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. So thankful everything went well for your husbands eye surgery! I am hoping for some cool weather but not rain or snow while my family is here. I just want it to be FALL for a little bit. I did not know C.S. Lewis passed away the same day as JFK. That is a very interesting fact! I hope your newsletter will be done and you can rest and enjoy the holiday! God bless! and have a great weekend

  4. Happy to hear your dh is recovering nicely. CS Lewis is one of my favourite authors too. I just finished listening to the complete audio set of the Narnia Tales. Although I’ve read them many times, this was the first time I’ve listened to them. Hope you get outside and enjoy that nice weather!

  5. Isn’t it great how God works out details for us? He is interested in everything about our lives – I can’t get over it!

    Thanks for the link about C.S. Lewis. I’m thankful for his books.

  6. I”m so happy for you and your hubby that his eyes are getting better!! Glory to God! and yay for getting that newsletter done…don’t you just love how God is in the minute details of our daily lives?? I LOVE CSLewis….thanks for the link

  7. My co-worker’s husband is a programmer and had a detached retina. His vision has never recovered and it is a huge cause of frustration. So I’m very pleased to hear that Jim’s seeing even the slightest improvement. May God iron out that wrinkle!

    Congrats on getting through the newsletter. It’s a busy time to squeeze in another activity and I’m pleased to hear you accomplished in the window of time you had.

  8. Yay for your project coming together and being done (mostly?) before Thanksgiving. Will all of your family be together for the holiday?

    Liked looking at the link to “Narnia through the Ages” which isn’t linked in THIS post but your other. Still, noting C.S. Lewis who has indeed been a profound influence in the world of Christianity!

  9. I’m glad Jim’s surgery went so well. It is amazing what can be done now to help people’s vision.
    Thanks for the link to the post about CS Lewis. He’s one of my favorite authors and now I’m thinking that I am going to make a project of rereading all his books, fiction and non-fiction.
    Happy Thanksgiving to you!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

