Friday’s Fave Five

FFF delicate leaves

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week, a wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

We’ve had quite the cold snap this week! I’ve been thankful for central heat and throw blankets and decaf coffee and soup and as well as:

1. Baked Chicken Chimichangas. I almost always order Chicken Chimichangas at Mexican food restaurants, but the one closest to us has kind of gone downhill, so we don’t go there any more. I was craving chimichangas, and the frozen ones just aren’t the same. I started looking up recipes for homemade ones and found one for baked ones – easier and healthier than fried. I added queso sauce across the top – probably not so healthy, but they always come that way in restaurants, and I love it. 🙂 They turned out pretty well, I thought.

chimichangas

2. The new Forte CD. Forte is a trio of tenors that was on Americas’ Got Talent this summer. They didn’t win, but their careers are taking off big time. I am loving the CD!

3. The Amazon cloud app. I didn’t know that Amazon would automatically put some music purchases in their “cloud” that you can then listen to on your computer or iPhone. So when I got the app for my phone, I discovered that several other former purchases were already in the “cloud” – and I didn’t have to figure out out to get them there. Cool! I’ve been enjoying the Forte CD already and I haven’t even got it yet! (I know I could just download it, but sometimes I like getting the actual CD and reading the stuff inside the case.

4. Getting pictures up in my hallway. That has only been on my to-do list for over 3 years now. 😳 My excuse is that I wanted to reframe some and maybe print out some others and took a long time to figure out what I wanted up there. I had one side of the wall done but on the other side wanted to do a grouping for each of the three boys. Feels nice to have gotten that done.

5. Take-out from Red Lobster that my dear hubby brought home from work Thursday night. Mmmm!!! Jesse has an evening class on Thursdays so sometimes that’s kind of an at-home date night for my husband and me.

Happy Friday!

12 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Oh wow – Forte is awesome! I saw that youtube video with Josh Groban – it’s amazing they got together and formed this group.

    Good for you for making your own version of a favourite dish. Saving money plus it’s healthier.

    You’re inspiring me to get my pictures up in my family room. It’s been on my to do list for at least 2 years 🙂

    Happy weekend!

  2. Don’t feel bad, I have had projects go long like that too. Kind of still do…
    I don’t know much about technology so, what is a cloud? LOL! Chimichangas are my favorite Mexican dish too! I will have to try this one!

    • I’m not great at technology either, so I don’t know exactly what a cloud is – I just know it means I can listen to something there withouthaving to download it into my phone or computer. Even with audiobooks and Kindle books, they are in “the cloud” when I purchase them and then they download when I get ready to listen to or read them. It is a way to store those things – maybe over Wifi? I don’t know – so they are not all taking up room in your device at once, or, like with a CD, without having to have the physical CD to listen to it..

  3. I love Mexican food…our daughter and her family lived in Mexico City for 12 years as missionaries and she is quite a good cook of authentic Mexican food. How I’ve missed ever having Baked Chicken Chimichangas is beyond me! I’m going to have to check that out! 🙂

    I think we all probably have some of those long awaited projects we want to get finished up. I have an end table in the living room that houses all of our picture albums…and we’ve been married for 41 years…I keep putting cleaning that end table on my to do list every week. I finally decided that I would wait until after Christmas now when I can bring the card table back downstairs, take out one album at a time and start doing some scrapbooking! 🙂 But I also know how good it feels when you are able to finish that project up!

    I left a note for you over at Joyful in His Presence. Thanks so much for coming by Barbara!

  4. I’ve never heard of Forte! Now I”m gonna have to find them on Pandora or you tube!! YAY for in home date nights!! I love it when I get projects finished in the home too….it must feel great to have your hallway done! Enjoy the weekend

  5. Awesome tenors! Love their voices. My first orientation with chimichanga was from the movie, I forgot the title, the one with Barbra Streisand, Adam Sandler, Robert de Niro… Now this one you shared looks yummy. I’m thinking of trying the recipe one day.

    Hazel

  6. It’s fun to hear how you are slowly making your new home (of three years) your very own. Hmmm, I’ve been here 7 years and still need to put up a couple of pictures–you’re way ahead of me!

  7. Love Mexican. We tried a new Mexican restaurant here after the one we usually went to also went downhill. It was really good so next time I’ll look for chimichangas. Will have to try that recipe too.

    Wish we’d get a Red Lobster here! Don’t know why they don’t have one. So it’s a treat for us when we travel to another city.

    If it makes you feel better, I’m horrible at getting framed pictures up. I have the best intentions but lack in the follow thru.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

