Friday’s Fave Five

FFF delicate leaves

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week, a wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

I can’t believe a whole week of November has gone by already! Here are some fave parts of it:

1. Date night! Last Saturday night my husband and I went with my son and daughter-in-law to see pianist Emile Pandolfi. I have been listening to his music for ages and for some years I’ve been wanting to see him in concert. We had seen this coming up a long time ago, but with Jim’s mom here now, I figured we wouldn’t be able to go and decided not to mention it as the time got closer. Then my husband called me saying he just remembered that was coming up and did I still want to go? Sure! We asked his mom’s caregiver if she could come in the evening instead of the morning, and she said yes. Emile entertained with funny stories in-between his lovely piano pieces. All in all a great night!

This isn’t from our concert – we weren’t supposed to take photos or videos – but it gives you a sample of what his concerts are like:

2. Dinner at a 50s-style diner called Hot Rods before the concert.

3. Cheddar potato soup at home this week. It was from a Bear Creek mix rather than homemade, and I added some hash brown potatoes to give it a little more bulk,  but it was very good.

4. A better-than-expected dentist’s appointment. I thought I’d be having three things done, a filling, a bond, and a gingivectomy. They put the last one off for a few weeks, which was a relief in some ways, though in one sense I would have liked to have gotten it over with. I asked a little more about the outcome of it (I thought maybe I’d be in pain and eating soup for three days afterward, but they said with the lasers there is not much post-operative pain at all) which helped me to dread it a bit less. Then before they started working on the filling and bond (fortunately in the same section of my mouth), they put some gauze with a topical anesthetic against my gum for a bit before the shot to numb it, and I didn’t feel the shot at all. That’s the first time that’s ever happened.

5. A fire averted and new appliances. I was thankfully standing right next to the toaster oven while waiting for it to cook my breakfast when I noticed a sudden bright light in it, which turned out to be the heating element about to flame out. We’ve had that for ages. I was able to get a new one pretty inexpensively, and in white, even, to match my other appliances (not always easy to find these days – everything is black or industrial grey). Plus I found a new little mini blender (like the Magic Bullet but much less expensive) that is working well for my m-i-l’s pureed foods. We had been using a little hand blender which works well for most things, but this helps with others.

All in all a good week. I hope yours was as well!

8 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. OH! I love piano music although I could not mention a favorite artist/composer. Just anything will do!
    The hash browns added to the potato soup is a great idea!
    I am a total coward when it comes to the dentist. That is why I go to one who caters to cowards… they are very gentle, use gas to relax you, and take their time with me.
    I don’t like to spend money on those appliances but they are so handy to have.

  2. Wow–that piano playing is unreal! I’m glad you were able to go to the concert and enjoyed a night on the town. You need to make sure you get breaks like that often.

    I’m thinking of asking for a toaster oven for Christmas. It’s been years since I’ve had one. Glad you averted a fire with yours!

  3. I enjoyed watching the clip of Emile. I love piano music, so I will have to check out getting some of his.

    I’ve never had a toaster oven … seems like a good idea for some things.

    I love Bear Creek soup mixes. What a good idea to add hash browns to it!

  4. Well as a former piano major for my undergrad work, of course I love piano music especially from the baroque or classical eras. I clicked on the link but couldn’t get a good connection…am on my iPad…will come back to listen when I’m on my laptop! Sounds like a fun date!!! I’ve never had that soup…am gonna look for it! It’s soup weather here in New York!! Have a wonderful weekend!!

  5. “Say………you’ll love me every waking moment…” Ah…. my heart was singing along Padolfi’s fingers flying on the keys!

    Glad the fire was averted. A great weekend to you, Barbara.

    Hazel

  6. I wished we wouldn’t need dentists, lol ! What a luck that you were standing besides the toaster and nothing was damaged. And you even got a new one, that’s nice !

  7. Yay! Successful dentist appt! And very glad a fire was averted. I’m nervous about toaster ovens — definitely a fave that you were there to catch the problem. Date night and beautiful music? Wonderful!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

