Friday’s Fave Five

FFF delicate leaves

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week, a wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

This feels like the first real week of fall to me, even though it has been officially fall for a few weeks now. Maybe because the leaves are finally starting to noticeably turn, maybe because I finally got my fall decorations up. Here are some of the high points of the past week:

1. A better knee. I had done something to it last week to cause it to hurt — I don’t know what —  and was loathe to go to the doctor and get sent off for x-rays and such, so I decided just to rest it as much as possible. It’s gradually been getting better to the point that it feels normal more often than it doesn’t, so hopefully it will be completely mended soon. Meanwhile I guess it is the appropriate time of year to walk like a zombie. 🙂

2. Oven meals. I think I list this every fall. There are some things that take an hour or so in the oven that I don’t dare make during the summer because it would make the house too hot and the AC wouldn’t catch up til the next day, so it is fun to get back to those when the weather cools a bit.

3. McAlister’s Deli. My husband indulged my request for a night off from the kitchen and brought a wrap and some soup from McAlister’s for me. I wish they sold their potato soups by the quart! That’s probably my favorite type of soup but I don’t make it from scratch very often.

4. A rainy day, not usually a favorite, but we hadn’t had one in a while, and I was able to take a cozy nap, which made it perfect.

5. A safe road trip as my son and daughter-in-law drove to OK to visit her mom.

Bonus: Books. I could list them every week. 🙂 I have to confess that sometimes I gravitate to games on my iPhone at times I would normally read, and I’ve tried to reverse that this week and get back into a book that I was lagging in. I did get over the hump and get back into it.

Hope you’re having a great week! Feel free to join in with us at Susanne‘s while we count our blessings.

9 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I’ve had knee issues also, and I’m with you about avoiding the medical runaround as long as possible. It wouldn’t have been a $50 X-ray–it would have been an $800 MRI!! A good brace has helped me tremendously – the kind that cost about $20 in the drugstore.

    Books – yes – I’ve been rereading TO THE GOLDEN SHORE this week and can’t put it down.

  2. I haven’t put books in a while but I should – I love to read. Maybe next week!

    I love the oven meals too – as well as baking. Autumn inspires me in the kitchen. And potato soup sounds really good!

    Hope your knee continues to mend.

    Happy weekend!

  3. Are you in McAlister’s email club? I joined a few months back, and this week got a $5 off coupon for my birthday! What a fun treat. I’ve actually not tried the potato soup there. It sounds wonderful! I know what you mean on avoiding the dr. I’m doing that more and more often, due to costs. It does seem that 95% of the time, time solves the problem. I hope your knee heals quickly!

  4. Ah, oven meals 🙂 Reminds me that I need to get some chicken defrosted for a chicken bake soon. So glad you and your family have food harmony at home! I used to room with a girl who had very challenging food allergies. We didn’t often eat together.

    Hope you have left your zombie phase and are walking like the living again 😉

  5. I’m so glad your knee is better!
    I do the same thing with iPhone games and then I realize how much time I’ve wasted when I could have been reading. I should probably get rid of them all. I’d be better off in the long run.
    Have a great week ahead!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

