Friday’s Fave Five

I don’t know what happened to the “lazy days of summer.” July has barely started and I’m tired already!🙂 But it has been a good week. Here are some of its highlights:

1. My mother-in-law’s 85th birthday.

2. Getting word that my niece’s fiance is CANCER FREE!!!!! Some months ago I had mentioned that my niece’s 19 year old fiance had been found to have multiple tumors in various places. After a surgery and then months of grueling chemo, scans last week showed no sign of cancer. Praise the Lord! He has to go back to the doctor every six months for the next two years just to check on things.

3. Independence Day. I am so thankful that our country is free and that people have sacrificed to make and keep it that way. A day off in the middle of the week is nice, too.🙂 Our neighbors planned something of a block party that went well despite frequent rain. I only knew two neighbors before, so it was nice to meet and get to know others. We ended the night with a family game of Settlers of Catan.

4. Getting some overdue phone calls made. For some reason I am getting terrible about that, especially in regard to appointments. I finally determined to just sit down and plow through all of them.

5. A hopeful prognosis. One of those phone calls was to an orthodontist. Jesse’s previous orthodontist in SC had recommended waiting until he finished growing to try to begin work on his needs. He had also said he would likely need surgery to remove part of his jaw to correct his particular problem, which to us sounded like a drastic measure (though we don’t question his judgement – he had been great with our older two boys). The orthodontist we saw here said there is a good chance we can correct the problem just by removing some extra teeth and positioning others. They took x-rays and such, and we won’t know the best course of action they’ll recommend until we see them again next week, but it’s a great relief that we might be able t get away without that kind of surgery. Plus it is just good to get the ball rolling on all this.

Hope you have a great weekend! It’s due to be a rainy one here, but we’ve got lots of indoor projects we can work on.

FFF daisies

Friday’s Fave Five is hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, who invites us to share five of our favorite things from the last week. It’s a wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

12 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Sounds like a great week to me! Praise the Lord for cancer Free! Hope you get some time to rest. I always tell myself “I’ll rest tomorrow” then when tomorrow comes I always have something else to do..🙂

  2. Getting to know your neighbors through a block party is a great idea. I have this recurring thought that I should do that in my neighborhood. But I am hoping that someone else will organize it.

    Hurray on getting those calls made esp the orthodontist call.Yes, what a relief to know that surgery might not be the only option.

    Happy belated birthday wishes to your mother-in-law. It sounds like a lovely gathering you all had for her.

  3. Such great news that your niece’s fiance is cancer-free! Praising God with you on that.

    I hate making phone calls too. Must be another sign of our introvert nature.🙂 But I always feel better once I do them.

    Enjoy your weekend!

  4. Oh Praise GOd that your niece’s fiance is cancer free!! God is good.
    Sometimes I procrastinate too on returning calls or making appts….I’m not an introvert but for me it just finds its way to the bottom of the to do list!
    We are a family (well, except for my 14 yr old daughter) who loves to play Settlers of Catan!! my husband and I play that often with friends during our winter months. We host game nights…it’s so much fun! Sounds like you had a great week…that birthday post regarding your mother in law was so sweet.

  5. Wow, that is such an answer to prayer for that young man. Thanks for the update, Barbara. And that your son may not have to have jaw surgery. From what I’ve seen of it (roomie’s mom), it is a grueling road to recovery.

    Glad, too, that you got to meet some neighbors. It’s nice to have a venue for that.

  6. That is wonderful about your niece’s fiance being cancer free! Glory to God!!!

    The block party sounds fun. My boys and I spent the evening at my parents swimming. Hubby was working.

    I hate making phone calls. I will wait longer than I need to make them.:-/

  7. Yay to the niece’s fiance being cancer free. What a relief and such great news. An MIL’s 85th birthday sounds grand; your Independence Day celebration fun. Always nice to meet new neighbors and friends.

    Hazel

  8. What great news about your niece’s fiance! Praise God! Praying for his continued health.

    A block party sounds like lots of fun and a great way to celebrate something like the 4th of July.

    Glad there might me another option for your son’s teeth.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

