Friday’s Fave Five

FFF daisies

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week,  wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

Another busy week — I thought things were supposed to slow down in the summertime!🙂 Here are some favorites from the last week:

1. Getting a couple of projects done: curtains and a remade bulletin board for the sewing/craft room. I’ve had both in mind for a while, so it was nice to finally decide what to do and get it done.


2. A rest day. I was not feeling well Sunday – nothing horrible, but just enough to stay home from church. I spent most of the day resting and reading – got a whole book read in a day! It felt so luxurious.

3. More light. I enjoy having more light in the evenings this time of year.

4. A visit from a friend. A good friend since early married days 30+ years ago and her daughter stopped by for an overnight visit on their way to visit another daughter. It’s always so good to catch up with them.

5. A husband who knows what to do. My friend’s car was leaking gas really badly. She had just gotten it back from the shop where they were supposed to have fixed the problem, but evidently the fix didn’t work, and she had another 8-hour drive scheduled today. Everyone was tired last night and decided to sleep on it, but then my husband came up with a plan of action that would take care of the car but still get her where she needed to go. So many times in our lives he has been able to come up with a practical plan of action when I’d still be in a muddle of not knowing what to do. I so appreciate that.

Bonus: It’s National Doughnut Day at Krispy Kreme, and they’re giving away one free doughnut per customer. We don’t have one right near us (which is good, because I’d be there much too often: their “Hot Doughnuts Now” sign is an irresistible magnet), but I may have to go looking for one.🙂

Happy Friday!

9 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Ooh, thanks for the tip about Krispy Kreme! We have one nearby, so we might have to take a “field trip” later today. 😉

    You read a book in one day? I’m with you–what luxury!

    Yippee for hubbies who know just what to do to fix the problem!

  2. I was sick on Sunday too, but I slept away my reading time😦 Reading time is a treasure, isn’t it?
    Every time you mention your wonderful craft room, I am just a little tiny bit envious–enjoy!

  3. Glad you felt better after a lie in on Sunday, Barbara, It is luxurious to read a whole book in one day.

    What a relief for your friend to be able to benefit from your hubby’s practical gifting. How lovely to be married to someone with this talent/gift.

    I keep reading about doughnuts. I may have to go out and find one too.

    Have a great weekend,

  4. The closest Krispy Kreme is a couple hours away from me. I’ve only ever had one that was bought through a fund raiser so while fresh that day it definitely was not hot.

    I would love to have a whole day where all I had to do was read! What a treat for you!

    Yay for your hubby’s being able to come up with a solution. I tend to get into a bit of a flap sometimes about problems that come up but my hubby also tends to come up with practical soloutions… if I would just let him think. ;v)

  5. Your window treatment is very pretty; I like the pink accents.

    The closest Krispy Kreme is about 30 miles from my house; that’s probably a good thing since I can’t resist those hot & fresh donuts.

  6. Oh, I do love all that extra light in the evenings. Gives me more energy🙂 I’m sure you must enjoy seeing progress in your craft room. And even to find the fabric in your own stash! Well done🙂

    You commented on my post about Reader alternatives… some further details if it might be useful: I have around 300 feeds so the slowness I see is probably due to a dozen or so feeds that publish multiple times per day (I probably glance at 1500 posts/headlines per day). So you may find NewBlur okay for your needs — they do limit free accounts to 64 feeds. I’m willing to pay for the additional services, but given what I’ve seen with only 64, I wasn’t impressed. I’ve also heard that Digg is building their own Reader and I’m very interested, but we’re nearly to mid June and I would like to try it out before asking my tech guy at work to let me onto the site. Have also seen people referring to BlogLovin’ as another alternative, though I don’t have any experience with it. I think I’ve decided to stay with Feedly at home and use The Old Reader for work. T.O.R. isn’t nearly as fast as Google’s Reader, but it is very similar and imported my subscriptions well (though not flawlessly). If Digg’s Reader gets launched and has better functionality than The Old Reader, I’ll probably switch then. Hope you find one that fits your needs! July is coming😦

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

