Friday’s Fave Five

FFF daisies

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week,  wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

It’s turned out to be a busier week than I thought it would be at the beginning. Here are some of the highlights:

1. Mother’s Day Eve dinner. We don’t like to eat in restaurants on Mother’s Day because it is so crowded, so Jason and Mittu took us out to eat Saturday night. I think that may be the first time they’ve ever done that, so that was a treat in many ways.

2. Mother’s Day. Traditionally Jim and the kids have worked together to prepare lunch on Mother’s Day after church, and they did so again this year. It’s lovely to come home from church and have nothing to do.🙂

Barbara's Cell phone pics 158

CIMG5837

I enjoyed the thoughtful gifts and cards and time with the family together (though Jeremy was there via FaceTime, it’s still nice he can be a part of it.)

Barbara's Cell phone pics 164

Fun with Jesse.🙂

3. Getting caught up on the housework. That may seem like an odd one.🙂 The last couple of weeks had been kind of a whirlwind, and I was heartily ashamed of the dust accumulated on horizontal surfaces. Housework isn’t necessarily my favorite thing to do, though I don’t mind it as much once I get started, and I do love the results. It felt good to get caught up — well, with the major tasks, at least. There’s always something more that can be done around the house.

4. Well-used leftovers. I don’t always plan for leftovers carefully and hate when I end up throwing them out when they’ve gotten old. Casseroles I usually just reheat for lunch, but some other things get neglected. We had had boneless pork chops leftover one night, more than I would probably use for lunches, so I chopped up the leftovers into a stir-fry dinner another night that was really good, if I do say so myself.🙂 Then we had hamburger buns, potato salad, and baked beans leftover from the Mother’s Day lunch, so I made Sloppy Joes last night to use them up.

5. Scoring a great deal. Jesse is going to a friend’s Junior-Senior banquet and wanted to find a shirt to coordinate with her dress, which was various shades of brown. He has a black suit, so we were thinking a brown shirt and then a tie that had black and brown in it to tie them together. We couldn’t find either of those. He suggested a new suit, and though he could probably use one, I wasn’t ready to lay out the cash for that, especially without talking to Jim first. But we walked over to where the suits were, looked at the clearance rack, found some suit coats, marked $25 and $36, found one he really liked, and when he tried it on, we discovered it was marked down to $15, originally $120. I could have done a happy dance right there in the store. Then we found some dress slacks on sale for $25 and a tie for $8. And he really, really likes it, so maybe he will wear it for more than those occasions when he “has” to wear a suit.

Update: Now that the banquet is over, here is a picture:

CIMG5844

So, that’s my week. How was yours?

12 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I always enjoy your Friday favorites. Love the photo this week with Jesse. He looks like a fun kid! I love the look on your face, too. :o) So entertaining to be a mother of boys!

  2. Hurray for getting caught up on housework. I so need to do that and HOPE I can post that as a fave for next week.

    It is so satisfying to use up leftovers well. I am not always good at that either. Stir fry and sloppy joes sound like 3 dishes I could (enjoyably) tuck into right now. I could very easily make a stir fry with some of the leftovers in my fridge. Thanks for the idea, Barbara.

    The photo of you and your son makes me smile. There is a lot of joy in that picture.

  3. My mom does wonders with leftovers as well.😀

    I wasn’t home during Mother’s Day but I think my other siblings celebrated with my mom back home. I miss her!

  4. Way to go on the suit deal!! A score. I love to find deals like that.

    Glad you had a lovely Mother’s Day lunch – I did facetime with one of mine too. I’m so thankful for it.

    Your boy has a great grin!

    happy weekend!

  5. what a great week you had…a special Mother’s Day of pampering and a great sale!!! I too got caught up on the housework although THAT did NOT make my fave list! LOL….although it DOES feel good to be caught up. enjoy your weekend!! OH and nice pic of you and your son🙂

  6. Mother’s Day Eve dinner sounds great, and time with the family. I know what you mean about feeling good about using leftovers wisely. Always makes me feel good. Have a great week ahead!

  7. Your Mother’s Day sounds like it was lovely. We don’t go to restaurants either because of the line ups and feeling like my husband says “cattle being pushed through a shoot”. LOL.

    My kids like eating leftovers for breakfast but now that one is no longer living at home and J. is working away from home for weeks at a time, I had to really adjust how I cook so there are not so many leftovers. It frustrates me to throw food away too. You had some great ideas you used. I’ll have to remember the one for pork chops! I sometimes use leftover buns for bread puddings or bread crumbs.

    What a deal on the suit!

  8. I celebrated Mother’s Day alone with my cats and did my laundry, lol ! But I got a phone call from my son who was in Italy on holidays.
    You certainly did a good bargain with the suit !

  9. How sweet Jesse looks with his friend. It’s so good when you can find clothing items when you need them AND at a great price! I know just what you mean about leftovers — well done this week with yours🙂

  10. Your family “cooks” for you much the same way mine does for me–with store-bought potato salad and hamburgers!

  11. My mother-in-law called them ‘planned-overs’.🙂 With only the two of us in the house now, we cook twice a week and eat a lot of leftovers which fortunately neither of us mind. Don’t you love great deals on clothes, especially the ones you know won’t be worn much? BTW, they look so cute!

Comments are closed.