What’s On Your Nightstand: March 2013

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

March has been a mixed-up month, with warmer temperatures earlier in the month and snow now after the official first day of spring. Wintry days make me long to curl up with a good book, and I wish I could actually do so more often. But I did get a good bit of reading in.

Since last time I have finished:

Dreams in the Medina by Kati Woronka, courtesy of a free voucher Lisa graciously shared with me, a coming-of-age story about several girls in Syria, reviewed here.

The Secret Thoughts of an Unlikely Convert by Rosaria Champagne Butterfield: a lesbian leftist professor who hates Christians….becomes one. Reviewed here, I am predicting this will be one of my top ten books of the year.

The Last Superhero by Stephen Altrogge, reviewed here. Fun read about an unlikely family of superheroes — an aging grandfather, a klutzy father, and an 8th grade son — going after a new villain.

Escaping My Story by Stephen Altrogge, about a fan of a not-too-great author of spy novels who suddenly finds himself in the real-life plot of one of the novels, with a dire outcome looming. This is the first of something like six installments of a serial novel: I think I’ll wait to review it til I’m done with the series.

Out to Canaan by Jan Karon (audiobook), Book 4 of the Mitford series, in which Father Tim contemplates and prepares for retirement, Mayor Cunningham faces an unlikely opponent, and a mysterious Florida corporation is trying to buy up Mitford property, including Miss Sadie’s Fernbank. Not reviewed, though very much enjoyed.

A New Song by Jan Karon (audiobook), in which Father Tim supplies a pulpit as an interim in Whitecap, an island on the NC coast, gets a disturbing phone call about Dooley back in Mitford, and discovers a mysterious neighbor. Also not reviewed though enjoyed.

Betsy-Tacy and Betsy-Tacy and Tib by Maud Hart Lovelace for Carrie’s Reading to Know Book Club for March, reviewed here.

I’m currently reading:

Introverts in the Church: Finding Our Place in an Extroverted Culture by Adam S. McHugh.

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde, audiobook. I had forgotten this was coming up later in Carrie’s Book Club. I may save my review for then, or go ahead and write it when I am done and just link back to it then.

The Victory Club by Robin Lee Hatcher set in WWII.

Up Next:

The Guardian by Beverly Lewis, third in her new Home to Hickory Hollow series.

Betrayal by Robin Lee Hatcher, second in the Where the Heart Lives series.

The Freedom of Self-Forgetfulness by Tim Keller.

In This Mountain by Jan Karon (audiobook).

His Ways, Your Walk, focusing on Bible passages written specifically to women, newly published by my friend Lou Ann Keiser. I was honored to be asked to read the manuscript for this before it was published, and it’s so neat to actually see it in print!

After that, I’m not sure. I’ve got scores to choose from.

What’s on your nightstand?

12 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: March 2013

  1. ;D Maybe I shoudlnt’ confess this but I keep forgetting Dorian Gray is popping up later in the year as well. I keep picking the book up and get ready to start it only to question whether it is I’m supposed to wait on it.😀 Glad to know I’m not the only one who is forgetting these things.

    Escaping My Story sounds interesting!

  2. you have been very busy! The Picture of Dorian Gray is on my list (has been for a long time but thanks to Carrie I hope to get it done this year). The Secret Thoughts of an Unlikely Convert sounds pretty intersting.

  3. I think I downloaded some Stephen Altrogge novels on my Kindle awhile back, but haven’t gotten around to reading them yet. You’ve piqued my interest to get started sooner rather than later. I always enjoy seeing what you’re reading and whether or not you like a book. You give such informative reviews.

  4. I love The Picture of Dorian Gray!
    I’m interested in that Introverts book. There is another one that I just heard about called something like, The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking or something like that. That one looked good too.

  5. All are interesting titles – looking forward for your synopsis. Right now, my Bible is on my night stand as I am a little behind on my daily reading schedule — I was just telling my husband I have a bit of catching up to do…

  6. ‘Secret Thoughts…’ looks interesting. I have to remember that title!

    Look forward to your thoughts on Dorian Gray. Not a cheerful book, but an intriguing one as I recall.

  7. I love so many things you have here — just read and LOVED Dorian Gray. Is Karon a favorite of yours? I keep hearing about her but have never read Mitford or anything she’s written. Where would you recommend beginning? Betsy Tacy — ah, the memories! I really should read Secret Thoughts.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

