Friday’s Fave Five

FFF daisies

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week,  wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

I saw this on Facebook — it about sums up the weather situation this week:

302138_10151137937339364_883970666_n

🙂 We do have some snow in the forecast in the next few days. But here are some highlights of the last chilly week:

1. A visit from a dear friend’s daughter who was passing through and needed a place to stop for the night. It was wonderful to be able to provide that for her and to catch up a bit with what was going on in her life.

2. A long phone call from the above dear friend. We saw that we were both on Facebook at the same time, and she messaged, “Do you have time to talk?” We’ve known each other since early married days and haven’t had a chance to really catch up with each other in a long while.

3. Spring break. No alarm clocks!

4. A new chair and end table. I’ve been wanting a chair for our bedroom ever since we moved here, for various reasons. Finally found a nice swivel rocker at a very good price. And I mentioned getting a new nightstand a few weeks ago: we got one for Jim’s side as well. Though I have never felt everything had to be exactly matchy-matchy in a room, it’s nice if things balance and coordinate. Our room has been a hodgepodge just about the whole time we’ve been married, and it’s nice that it’s finally looking a little more put together.

Bedroom chair photo CIMG5781.jpg

5. Mini Pie Bites. After learning that March 14 was Pi Day, I really had a craving for chocolate pie. But these days I pretty much save such things for company, because it is too much temptation to have a whole pie or cake in the house. Then I came across these in the store…perfect!

 photo CIMG5780.jpg

Have you have a great weekend as we all look ahead to when it will really feel like spring!

No matter how long the winter, spring is sure to follow.
– Proverb from Guinea

10 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Oh those mini pies are perfect for me and my hubby. I no longer eat dessert, or anything really, after 7 pm but these would make the perfect little treat!! and my husband needs to lose weight but loves sweets so maybe I could treat him to one of these. I’m going to look for them…i’ve never seen them!!
    I too love good talks with old friends and how nice you could host her daughter…that is a true blessing! Your bedroom looks very cozy…i would LOVE to curl up in that chair tonite with a good book and a nice warm cup of tea…is very chilly here today and only about 25 degrees F. last year at this time it was in the high 70s!! enjoy your weekend

  2. Your armchair looks very comfortable ! I don’t know where spring is hiding this year ! We had the coldest start into spring since 1916 !! and they announced snow for this weekend ! i think I’ll move to Africa !

  3. Ooh, those mini pie bites look great…and dangerous! I’ll have to look for those. So nice to get your room all together, I know.

    And I do love that “no alarm clock” season! Have a great week ahead.

  4. I saw that groundhog photo on Facebook, too, and I laughed out loud. I’m glad you had a chance to catch up with your friend. Those pie bites look fabulous!

  5. I’ll have to look for the mini pies. Just enough to fill a sweet tooth. How nice to have your bedroom all fixed up. So often our own spaces get put at the end of the priority list.

  6. I’ve been reading that the weather has been completely unspring-like in most of North America. I hope they catch that ground hog soon! Maybe the snow will stop then.🙂
    I’m glad you were able to catch up with your friend. That’s important.

  7. The groundhog wanted poster made me crack right up! Especially when I can totally relate as the Canadian rodent seemed to have gotten it a bit wrong himself. LOL.

    How I wish I had room in our bedroom for a reading chair! Yours looks perfectly comfortable for snuggling up with a good book.

  8. Isn’t it nice to find something being sold that is just what you are looking for? That chair in your room looks very cozy. Just the thing for reading in🙂 And thank you for the reminder about the woman and Jairus and Jesus’ taking it all in stride. He knows what He’s about and it isn’t only getting to the next city.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

