Friday’s Fave Five

friday fave five 12

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week,  wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

It’s been a wild and windy week outside: rain, high winds, flooding, and a bit of snow. I’m thankful it’s been warm and cozy inside. Here are a few faves from the week:

1. Not losing power, always a concern during storms of any kind around here.

2. Safety. Jesse had a couple of harrowing experiences in his car, hydroplaning for the first time.

3. A new nightstand. I have been wanting to get rid of the old one for ages. It was old and had problems even before we scavenged it from friends who were getting rid of it. It was intended for a living room end table and stuck out too far for a bedroom night stand, but it served that purpose well for a number of years. I had been saving up points from my Amazon credit card to buy something big with rather than piddling it away on smaller orders. It takes me ages to come to a decision about style and color, but I finally bought a new one. I had enough points to get two, but I wanted to wait and see how we liked this one first. Jim said I could buy a second one for his side — we will have matching nightstands for the first time in 33 years of marriage!

Old:
 photo BarbarasCellphonepics133.jpg

New:
 photo BarbarasCellphonepics135.jpg

4. A new Mexican food restaurant. I have to have a Mexican food place nearby! That or learn to make chicken chimichangas for myself. My husband was dissatisfied with the place we’ve been going, so we tried a new place and liked it.

5. God bringing things together. I was working on the ladies’ newsletter for church this week and had it all done except for one section someone else was writing. She e-mailed Wed. night to ask if she could wait and send it in next month, which was fine, but now I needed to figure out what to put in that blank space. Then something I read Thursday morning fit the bill perfectly, both in what it said and the length of it to fit in the needed space. Thank you, Lord!

Hope you have a good weekend! The rain has finally stopped here, though we still have lots of ponds throughout town formed by all the rainwater. We’re supposed to get snow this weekend, but they say it won’t be enough to cause any problems. Hope not!

16 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. When I first glanced down at your photo, I thought, what a nice big nightstand to hold all your books! Then I saw your tag for it: OLD! The new one is very tidy — and two that match, what a concept🙂 #5 is especially nice. It feels good to have pieces fit together. Glad Jesse’s safe and you all survived the weather!

  2. So glad your son is safe. Hydroplaning is so not good!
    This is my first time participating in Friday Faves. I’ve been reading yours every week and decided ‘how hard can this be?’…I know. Takes me awhile to catch on.
    Have a great weekend, Barbara!

  3. Love the new nightstand! And glad to hear of your and your family’s safety during those storms.

    Have a great week ahead.

  4. We have been married 36 years and still no matching nightstands, either! I like yours, it’s a great size.

    Glad your power has stayed on; so has mine during recent storms, a true blessing indeed!

  5. I love your new nightstand! Now you can include it in your ‘Nightstand’ posts!🙂

    I’m very glad Jesse was all right. Hydroplaning is truly an out-of-control experience.

  6. I can so totally relate to your nightstand episode. We are in the process of replacing our bedroom furniture, and I am in the market for a set of matching nighstands as well!🙂

    Have a great weekend.

  7. I like your nightstand, too. And your quilt is sure pretty! I can appreciate #5, having worked on newsletters for years. It’s kind of like doing a jigsaw puzzle sometimes, getting all the pieces to fit.

  8. oh i LOVE your new nightstand!!! yay for things coming together and for the Lord’s protection over your son! i hydroplaned just once and it is very scary!! Enjoy your weekend (oh and i really like your bed quilt too!!!)

  9. I do not like to hydroplane! I’m glad there were no mishaps. Your new nightstand is great. Glad things came together nicely this week and that you did not lose power!

  10. We’ve had a little sleet and snow this morning and then sunshine to melt it all….we have Living Room end tables for bedside tables, also….it would be nice to have matching ones with lots of drawers. I like yours….I love Amazon…..

    Its sometimes hard to rely on others to do something…..and she waited until the last minute to tell you she couldn’t do it which was a bummer but, it looks like that was all part of God’s plan as he sent you the inspiration for just what he wanted in the space.
    Blessings,
    Mama Bear

  11. I smiled when I saw your old nightstand. That is exactly what my Oldest Girl uses as a nightstand. She finds it holds all her paraphenelia. I love the new one because of the open slot. That is just perfect!

    The first hydroplane or two is a scary thing. Glad Jessie came out of them okay.

    We’re going to try a new Mexican restaurant also. The service we received at our usual one was really, really bad the last time we went. And that wasn’t just from a server but actually from the owner so hubby wasn’t too impressed.

  12. I love watching how God works things out!

    So glad that Jesse was okay and you didn’t lose power.

    Having a good Mexican restaurant is very important.🙂 We make chimichangas in the oven. Pretty much I make burritos, brush them with canola oil, and bake them in the oven–turning and brushing with oil a few times–until they’re brown and crispy. They’re not as decadent as deep-fried, but they’re not bad.

  13. I love those new nightstands! They are smaller but still have plenty of room for bedtime reading books.
    I heard weather has been crazy all over, so I’m glad you (and your boy) are safe and dry.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

