Friday’s Fave Five

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week,  wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

It’s been a better week for us than the last couple of weeks have been, though we’re still heavy-hearted and concerned for a niece’s fiance who was discovered to have multiple tumors and is suffering through a heavy regime of chemotherapy this week and will be for weeks to come. The ultimate prognosis is good, the doctor says, but they’re going to have an awful time of it through treatment. Prayers are always appreciated!

The faves for this week are small ones, but they do lighten and encourage.

1. Thoughtfulness. My husband had to pick up Chick-Fil-A biscuits for a meeting at work, and time was tight between the time they opened and the time he had to be at work, but he still stopped by the house and dropped off chicken biscuits for Jesse and me.

2. Filters. When my oldest son was here he showed me how to set up filters for gmail. That has been a great help, especially for sales-related ones (coupons for the pizza place, fabric shop, etc.) I can set them to go into a folder without them cluttering up my e-mail and then look at them when I want to.

3. Hand-written notes, both sending and receiving them.

4. Downton Abbey. Yes, I’ve gotten on the bandwagon.:) I was discouraged from doing so, thinking I’m 3 seasons behind and it would take ages to catch up, but then I saw each season was only 7-8 episodes long. I’ve seen some episodes through Netflix and some through the PBS site, but thanks to Lisa for sharing this link to stream the episodes (The “Behind the Drama” special was really good), and also for the warning that there is a pretty bad scene in the first episode, but thankfully nothing like that has come up again so far. I was disappointed that it seemed a little soap-operaish at first, but I liked the historical aspects, especially when WWI and the Spanish flu hit. But according to the author in the “Behind the Drama” special, what I thought was the most soap opera-like one of all about the Turk was actually based on a true story. Truth is stranger than fiction sometimes!

5. A cozy, warm shelter. Our area is being hit with an ice storm with predictions now of up to a 1/2″ of ice before it’s over. I’m thankful to have a safe place to stay and pray for those who don’t.

photo(7)

Hope you’re having a safe and warm weekend wherever you are.

17 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. What a good week for you! I’m glad to hear that your niece’s fiance’s prognosis is filled with hope. :)

    We actually do have a Chick Fil A near us…but it’s still about 40 minutes away. It’s near the pediatrician, so I have been a couple times, but only through the drive through. I really like their chicken though…it’s good stuff!

    We finally set up the DVR to record Downton Abbey…thank you for the link. I also wondered about hopping onto the bandwagon so late.

    I also received a nice note this week…warms the heart!

    God bless, Barbara!

  2. I’m glad to know about the stream tv site. We’ve just got the free trial of netflix and have been watching some on Hulu as well. I’m a tad confused on how it all works, when new episodes will come up, why they skip some episodes etc. But I did notice all the episodes of on of our favorites, so (having said ALL that!) thanks for the link!
    Oh boy, I remember those dangerous ice storms when we lived in TX. Definitely don’t miss those. Be safe.

  3. I’ll pray for your niece’s fiance, and I’m glad the prognosis is good.

    A friend and I were just talking about how handwritten notes are becoming a thing of the past. I appreciate–and write–them, though.

    I just noticed in your sidebar that you reviewed Quiet. I’ve read it but haven’t written my review yet.

  4. Yay! I solved my comment problem!

    I wanted to say thanks for the Downton Abbey link. I have some of your same feeling about being interested but “hopelessly” behind. Maybe that will help me to catch up!

    I have one more theory to test regarding comment issues, so if I leave one more comment after this one, please forgive me for cluttering up your thread. It’s all in the name of scientific investigation.:-)

  5. I liked the behind the scenes show too. I was surprised at how differently some of the actresses looked in real life compared to their characters. Not sure I would have recognized them.

    Glad this week was better for you. It’s nice to know that bad times won’t ever last forever.

  6. YAY For another Downton Abbey fan!!!!! it’s our favorite show !!
    I love that picture you posted for your last fave and here in NY we don’t have a Chick Fil A although I’ve heard alot about it! I would love a warm biscuit right about now!!
    I will put your relative’s fiance on my prayer list and get my small group to pray for him. Prayer is powerful. Glad your week was a bit better. Have a wonderful weekend!!

  7. Beautiful ice picture! And here’s to thoughtful husbands. I SO want to hop on the bandwagon, but I’ll just have to wait until summer and catch up. It’s research paper season, and this teacher just has way too much grading right now.

    Have a great week, Barb!

  8. Oh, how I love email filters! I have a folder called “pre-trash” and it’s perfect for all the promotional stuff. Glad you’re enjoying D.A. When I saw that first episode, I almost didn’t continue, but have enjoyed other episodes since. Praying for your niece’s fiance.

  9. You had a good week without problems even though you are also stuck in snow and slippery roads. I a so fed up of this cold weather !! Can’t wait that spring comes !

  10. So glad you’re week was a bit better. Saying a prayer for your niece’s fiance!

    I have not watched any Downtown Abbey but I may just have to check it out now that you gave us a link. So sweet of your hubby to make that effort to bring you guys a treat.

  11. Yes, I was going to e-mail you and tell you about the scene in the first episode but then you mentioned that you had already started it and so I figured….you now knew! It hasn’t come up again since. However, Season 3, episode 2 rather hinted that we’ll be dealing with that again. We groaned and are hoping not. I think we’ll find out tonight exactly what direction that is headed in.

    Chick fil A biscuits dropped off at my house would indeed land on my list of blessings.:) (I ate CFA 4 times on our 1 week trip down to CA over Christmas!) But who’s counting, right?

    Praying for your family!

  12. I’ve so wanted to watch Downton Abbey, but with that scene in the first episode I’ve been afraid to, knowing I’d probably get hooked on it then have to stop watching it because that would come up again. I’m going to try watching it through the free site you linked to, so hoping it won’t be an issue later.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

