Friday’s Fave Five

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week, a wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

Hope you had a wonderful Christmas! Ours was great. Here are some highlights of the last week:

1. Christmas, of course. I could make a “fave five” list just from Christmas Day, but I’ll include the family time, great food, presents, and contemplation of our Savior’s birth all in one.

2. My new PINK laptop! I’ve always used the desktop, and some of my portable devices are fine for reading but not so great for posting or commenting. I’ve already put this to good use.

3. The Hobbit, followed by dinner and games at Jason and Mittu’s house with friends. Didn’t like this film quite as much as The Fellowship of the Rings, but it was fun.

4. Swiss-Ham-Ring-Around, one of our favorite Christmas leftover meals.

5. Time off. Jim is off through Tuesday and Jeremy is here through the weekend, so we’re enjoying just hanging out most of the time with some excursions here and there. Yesterday we did something I have been wanting to do since we moved here: we went to the World’s Fair Park and went up into the Sunsphere. I feel much more Knoxvillian now.:)

Barbara's Cell phone pics 118

Here’s the view down below of the amphitheater and part of the park from the observatory:

Barbara's Cell phone pics 116

Barbara's Cell phone pics 117

Then we stopped in at the nearby Museum of Art (because they had a sign advertising free admission and because I needed a bathroom…), and they had a really neat display of miniature rooms.

Barbara's Cell phone pics 121

Barbara's Cell phone pics 120

All in all a fun outing.

Hope you’re having a great week, too!

16 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. My mouth is watering over your ham ring. I NEED to make this. 😉

    I smiled at the thought of your pink laptop. I have been boring all my laptop years and only had either black or silver. But I think next time I will get something more colorful. I LOVE the portability of my laptop. I.e. Right now I am at Starbucks.

    I saw The Hobbit and thought it was okay. But it doesn’t compare to LOTR. In fact, I am going to watch the trilogy this weekend. I meant to do that before watching The Hobbit – ran out of time.

    How fun to find free admission to a museum and then be delighted by an exhibit. Looks like the miniature rooms are in shadow boxes. What an imaginative idea.

    Barb, may the rest of 2012 be full of family time and celebration.

  2. Love all your photos!! yay for a new laptop…my oldest would totally approve of the color:) WOW that tower is something!! and those miniature rooms are something I’d like in a museum exhibit. I love stuff like that!! I didn’t fully care for The Hobbit either and felt like my $11 was wasted but….you’ll have to visit my post to see why i even went! LOL…..have a happy new year!!

  3. It is so true that we could have five favorites just from Christmas! Glad you are having a nice time with family. It’s fun to visit our local attractions. Yours reminds me of our Space needle. Blessings on your weekend.

  4. I’m looking forward to seeing The Hobbit sometime too! Your pics of the miniature rooms are amazing — I’m calling my daughters to see them right now…

  5. A PINK laptop! Do they come in purple too??
    We’re going to see The Hobbit with family tonight! I have been reading all over about family outings to see the Hobbit.
    Enjoy your time with your family:)

  6. Yum! A pink laptop! I’ve had a laptop for several years and just can’t imagine using a desktop again. I love it’s portability.

    I had forgotten about the Knoxville World’s Fair! I was a teenager when it took place, living about 50 miles east of Knoxville. I was learning to drive, and because we took my mother to Knoxville for her doctor appointments, my dad would let me drive. He and I both have some hair-raising memories of my driving in the construction traffic for the Word’s Fair! LOL We moved back to SC before the Fair opened, so I didn’t get to go. Your picture of the sphere brought back those memories – fun, and a bit bittersweet, as my mother died soon after we moved back to SC.

  7. LOL I was going to say the same thing as Diane about the pink laptop. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a pink laptop. I’ll bet you were absolutely thrilled opening up that present.

    Your family time visiting the World’s Fair Park sounds like lots of fun. I’ve never attended a world’s fair. Do they still do them?

    • I don’t know if they do — we were wondering about that yesterday. I don’t remember hearing about them in ages. This one was built in ’82, and we were close enough then to have come, but don’t remember hearing anything about it.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

