What’s On Your Nightstand: December 2012

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

It’s been a lovely but busy month; nevertheless, I did get a few good reads in.

Here is what I finished since last time:

Unless It Moves the Human Heart: The Craft and Art of Writing by Roger Rosenblatt, reviewed here. Didn’t quite agree with every little thing, but overall an inspiring read.

The Bridge by Karen Kingsbury, not reviewed but a pleasant Christmas read.

The Christmas Dog by Melody Carlson, reviewed here: also a nice read.

Remembering Christmas by Dan Walsh, not reviewed: just finished it Christmas Day.

Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room, a Christmas devotional book by Nancy Guthrie.

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens Carrie‘s Book Club December pick, reviewed here.


At Home in Mitford by Jan Karon (audiobook), reviewed here. I read this years ago and enjoyed going over it again via audiobook. A very cozy book.

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott, reviewed here. Loved revisiting this.

I am currently reading/listening to:

Journey Into Christmas by Beth Streeter Aldrich. It was recommended to me, and I am finding I am having a hard time getting into short stories, though they are fine.

A Light in the Window by Jan Karon, audiobook.

Next up: Wow, it is going to be hard to choose. I’ve had some good books waiting for me plus got some good ones for Christmas. But some of the ones I’m most looking forward to are:

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain. Heard much good about this last year.

Introverts in the Church: Finding Our Place in an Extroverted Culture by Adam S. McHugh (sensing a theme here?🙂 )

Books for Carrie’s L. M. Montgomery Reading Challenge, to be decided soon.

A Severe Mercy by Sheldon Vanakuen.

Crowded to Christ by L. E. Maxwell.

Lark Rise to Candleford by Flora Thompson.

Courting Cate by Leslie Gould, an Amish take on The Taming of the Shrew.

A Place of Quiet Rest by Nancy Leigh DeMoss

For those who like to plan ahead, I am hosting the Laura Ingalls Wilder challenge again this February. I’d love to have you join us! I’ll have more information up about it soon, but basically it involves reading anything by or about Laura during the month of February.

11 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: December 2012

  1. Your LIW challenge intrigues me — I just love her and have read her Little House books several times. I LOVED Quiet! It’s one of the very few books I’ve reviewed that I actually want to keep. I just kept thinking “yes!” over and over as I read. I need to check out the Introverted/church book as well. It’s not easy to be an introvert in many settings …
    I’m thinking Melody Carlson has a pretty sweet publishing gig going – The Christmas Dog, I read The Christmas Pony, and on and on it goes …! Happy New Year!

  2. I enjoyed your A Christmas Carol review, too.

    The introvert/church book intrigues me…more so for my husband. Don’t you just love Little Women on audio? Such a good reading. The only thing you miss out on is the Pilgrim’s Progress quotes. 🙂

    I doubt I will read much next month. When I read LMM it takes a LONG time! Thanks for the LIW reminder. 🙂

  3. Ditto what Lisa says. Those are both titles I’ve read.

    I’m curious about Introverts in the Church, too! You may be getting to it before I do, so I’ll look forward to what you have to say.

  4. Introverts in the Church sounds interesting. It looks like a number of people are interested in it! I’m an introvert in crowds, especially when it’s people I don’t know or don’t know well. It’s very easy to get lost in church that way.

  5. I’ve also heard some interesting things about Quiet. I might have to take part in that LIW challenge, I read the first 2 Laura books last year and would love to get back to those. Happy reading!


  6. Courting Cate looks interesting with the Shakespeare twist. I’ll have to wait to see what you think since I avoid Amish fiction.

    I re-read At Home in Mitford earlier this year, but haven’t been able to continue in the series. That might be something to add to my reading goals for the new year.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

