Friday’s Fave Five

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week, a wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

It’s been a busy but enjoyable week. Here are some favorite parts of it:

1. Jim is feeling much better. Still runs out of energy by evening and still has a cough but he is much better than he was last week.

2. Unexpected refunds. One company I ordered from online for the first time sent me an e-mail that they hadn’t gotten my order out when originally planned, so they refunded the shipping charges. Since I had ordered early for Christmas and it wasn’t “crunch time,” I hadn’t even really noticed that the order wasn’t in on time, but I appreciate the integrity of this company. Then we decided that something we ordered from another company wasn’t what we needed, and when I contacted them to send it back, they sent us a refund but said we didn’t need to return it.

3. Another bird feeder. I put a feeder containing suet up just outside the window by my desk, where hanging plants were in the spring and summer. It took a while for the birds to find it but now I see them there regularly and more close-up than the bird feeder by the tree. But I can’t seem to get a picture — I guess they’re close enough that they see or sense movement and fly off when I reach for the camera. Maybe they’ll get used to me after a while.

4. Caroling for “at-home” members. Last Sunday night our church broke up into smaller groups and took care baskets to some of our older members who can’t get out to church much and sang Christmas carols to them. My mother-in-law was one of those whom they went to. I wasn’t able to go but Jim said it went really well. Sometimes she’s too sleepy to interact much, but he said she sang along with some of the songs and enjoyed the visit.

5. Pumpkin Spice Swirl Bread. I passed by a display of this in the grocery store and then went back to pick one up. It’s more like regular sandwich bread with a bit of pumpkin and cinnamon flavor than regular pumpkin bread, but it makes good toast and is a nice seasonal change.

Pumpkin swirl

Hope you have a great week!

8 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Unexpected refunds! There’s nothing more awesome than “found” money!🙂

    I love what your church is doing with the caroling, etc. I’m sure those people were very appreciative.


  2. Ohhhh, the pumpkin spice swirl bread looks like something I should try. So many times I shop on autopilot and with blinders on getting the same old same old. One of these days I will go though every aisle just to see what I’ve been missing. lol

    How fun that folks from your church went caroling. What a nice touch of love that was to the at-home people from your congregation like your mom. I hope to get a group together for that next year.

    I read about the bird feeders that some of your have and I wonder if birds would visit me at my apartment balcony. I hope your birds do get used to you so that you can photograph them.

    Hurray for companies with integrity!!!

    Have a great week, Barbara, and I hope your hubby gets even better soon.

  3. What a great company–their response makes it much more likely you will order from them again.
    I think it’s time for me to start singing more Christmas carols! I’m glad your mother in law was able to sing along.

  4. Those are all good things to put on your favorite list. I’m glad that Jim is feeling better!! I’ve not seen that pumpkin bread, but you can bet that I’ll be hunting that down🙂

  5. I’ll bet that bread does make wonderful toast. I have some pumpkin butter left from summer that I bet would be delicious on it. I”ll have to look for it next grocery trip.

    What a nice thing your church does for those who are more shut in.

  6. Yum, that pumpkin spice bread sounds fantastic. Bread is one food I miss a lot. So nice your mother-in-law got to enjoy the caroling. And hopefully, by now (I’m very late with FFF commenting!) Jim is feeling even better!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

