Friday’s Five Friday

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week, a wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

It’s not been one of the very best weeks — poor hubby has been sick for a week now. Some weeks you have to look a little harder for some good points, but there are almost always some to be found.

1. Medicine. Jim had been holding off going to the doctor, figuring if he had just a cold or even the flu it would just need to run its course. But it had gone on a long time and the weekend was coming up, so we thought maybe he should try to get in in case of strep or an infection. He was given an antibiotic for bronchitis and prednisone for swelling and inflammation, so hopefully once those kick in he’ll start to mend.

2. The Children’s Christmas program at our church Sunday night. They do the exact same program with kids each year (except they may do different songs): a portrayal of Christ’s birth with Mary, Joseph, the inn keeper, shepherds, wise men, angels, etc. The cutest are the little ones in animal costumes made like footie pajamas. I wasn’t even sure I was going to go that night — Jim was home sick, I hadn’t been feeling all that great that morning, I thought, “It’s just going to be the same thing as last year…” But I am glad I did. It was enjoyable and those programs help set the tone for the season.

3. This sweet carol sung by some of the older girls in the children’s program.

4. Cozy books are always a fave, but I just finished an audiobook of At Home in Mitford and started Little Women. They make me want to curl up with a blanket and keep listening, but I try to keep them to when I am driving or curling my hair, etc.

5. Watching Little Women (the Winona Ryder version) with my daughter-in-law one evening when they were here to do laundry. My son was there, too, but I think he was working on something on the computer most of the time. I had been wanting to watch it in conjunction with reading the book (no worry about spoilers since I had read the book and seen the DVD many times before) and because, though it’s not specifically a Christmas story, it begins at Christmas and has another significant Christmas in it. It was fun to watch it with Mittu.

Hope you have a great weekend! I’m hoping to catch up on what I didn’t get done this week: Christmas cards!

14 thoughts on “Friday’s Five Friday

  1. I love the Winona Ryder version of LITTLE WOMEN. I show it in American Lit. class each year when we do Transcendentalism. It’s a great rendition, fairly faithful to the book, and CLEAN to show in class or at home!!!

    • It’s fairly accurate — it does smoosh some things together and portray some things a little differently, but overall it is good. There are older version with Katherine Hepburn and another with June Allyson playing Jo, but it has been so long since I have seen them I don’t remember much about them.

  2. How cute the kiddos must look in their footie animal costumes. I used to make my son such pjs every year b/c he LOVED animals. They were worn all the time.

    I will look into making such costumes for our younger kiddos in children’s ministry for next year’s Christmas play. Barb, do you know what ages the kiddos are that wear them?

    I hope your hubby is well oin the mend now. It’s a good thing he went to the dr.

    I had hope to settle in with a Christmas book this week, but I didn’t make that happen. I heaven’t read any of the Mitford books. I hear I am missing out!

    Have a great week!

  3. What a sweet little Christmas song! Love it!

    I love Children’s Christmas programs… they help to give me that Christmas spirit that makes the holidays so enjoyable.

  4. We are working our way through Little Women (we usually alternate it with another book) Grace loves it, and so do I of course. We’ll probably watch the movie after, so I don’t spoil the book!
    Sorry your hubby’s under the weather.
    In spite of that, hope you have a great weekend.

  5. That version of LIttle Women is super popular at our home! and it’s funny but that’s on the agenda for me and my almost 14 yr old for tomorrow evening after we arrive home from visiting my dad in central NY. We have all read the novel as well and it was always a beloved book when I was a child. I hope your hubby is on the mend…..and that you have a restful weekend!

  6. I’ve had a cold dragging on for over 4 weeks. It sounds as if Jim was worse than me.

    Children and Christmas plays are enjoyable, but more so when you have a child in the play.

    I’ve read the entire Mitford series. I wish that Mitford and Father Tim were real.

  7. I love children’s Christmas programs. I get such a kick out of kids being kids in them.

    Sorry your hubby has not been feeling well. Hope that medicine starts to do the job.

    I haven’t seen the Wynnona Ryder version for so long but do remember enjoying it when I did. I’ll have to put it on hold at the library.

  8. Oh, I hope you will curl up and get cozy with your audiobook. It is wonderful. You can even re-listen🙂 Hope that Jim is on the mend with those meds doing their work. What a nice tradition with the children’s program🙂

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

