Friday’s Fave Five

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week, a wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

It has been a full, good, productive week! Here are some favorite parts of it:

1. Time with family. Jim and Jeremy were both off through Monday, when we had to take Jeremy back to the airport, so we had the entire weekend to just hang out, play games, and…

2. Decorate the Christmas tree. It’s up earlier than usual for us — Thanksgiving was the earliest it could be, but I love doing this all together while Jeremy is here. And now I feel like we have an extra week for Christmas activities.🙂

3. Getting the bulk of the Christmas shopping done, most of it online– first time ever that’s happened before it’s even December. And I have a great deal of it wrapped already, mainly because I didn’t want bags and boxes cluttering up the closet or sewing room.

4. A lunch date at Cracker Barrel. After we dropped Jeremy off at the airport, Jim took me to lunch at Cracker Barrel, one of my favorite places, but one he’s not crazy about, so it meant a lot to me. ♥ They had a special on chicken and dressing that was really good (except for a few loose bones…), and their Coca-Cola cake is luscious.

5. Mini pink-decorated Christmas tree on my desk. I got this at a little shop where we used to live, and I don’t remember where I used to put it in the old house, but here it fits just right on the side of my desk.


Hope you have a great weekend!

14 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. We decorated set up our tree on Thanksgiving itself. I’ve never done that before. Usually we wait until December 1st at least. However, since we’ll be gone over Christmas, I figure that this will give us a little extra time enjoying a decorated Christmas-y house!

    Glad you had fun with the family!

  2. Love your Christmassy banner, Barbara.

    Hurray on getting mot of your shopping done AND wrapped. I hope to do that this week. It is such a great feeling to be done.Plus that means no last minute rush and stress of doing this.

    Such a cute little tree. How nice that you’ll be able to enjoy it so close to you!!

  3. oh!! my oldest daughter Courtney would just LOVE your little pink tree!!!! It is soooo pretty!! I’m pretty much done shopping too thanks to the online deals during the last couple of months. I have not yet been to a mall! YEAH!! We are putting up our tree tomorrow evening and I can’t wait. I love everything decorated for Christmas! believe it or not, me, who loves to go out to lunch, has never been to a Cracker Barrel!! I really must change that!🙂 (we live near 3 of them!). It sounds like you had a really good week! enjoy the weekend!!

  4. Yay for almost being done shopping. Now you can relax and enjoy the season. I got started with great gusto but it’s fizzled the last couple of weeks. Today is the day the tree usually goes up. Hopefully I can get to it. Hubby is outside putting up the lights.

    Sweet of your hubby to take you to lunch where you like it. I hope he got something he liked too this time.

  5. Oh, I like that little tree. It looks perfect in your space. You are certainly starting the season right with family gatherings for Thanksgiving and Christmas preparation nearly done!

  6. We decorated this past week, we usually do the weekend after Thanksgiving (or OF Thanksgiving I should say). I love your little tree it’s so cute!! I have a lot of Christmas shopping done; just a bit left. I enjoy Christmas more when I don’t have to do last minute shopping and wrapping.

  7. Hello Barbara!
    Glad you were able to have the kids home.
    I let Grace decorate her little tree, but decided to wait on the big one until last night. This is the 2nd year we’ve had an artificial tree, and while it’s nice to decorate right after Thanksgiving, I thought it was a little too early this year myself.
    Online shopping…that’s the way to go!

  8. I’m glad you had an extra day to enjoy Jeremy being home! The lunch at Cracker Barrel sounds so good. We only get to go to CB when we’re down South, so it’s been several years. We’re actually thinking of that as the venue for the rehearsal dinner! LOL Sam loves it, we love it – we just don’t know if Juliana and her family love it.

    I love your little tree! I have a small one on the corner of my countertop in my kitchen.

  9. What a cute little PINK tree! Love it. Sounds like you had a great week full of family and holiday doings. None better than that! Have a great week ahead.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

