Praying and voting

Our ultimate hope and need is not in a certain political leader. “It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man. It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in princes.” (Psalm 118:8-9).

Ultimately the only hope for change in a country is in change in the human heart, and that can only be effected by God, not government.

But though our hope is not in leaders, God uses them to accomplish His purposes. We have in this country the privilege of voting for our leaders. Not every country in every time has been able to do this, and I don’t see how we can take this responsibility lightly or ignore it. Neither candidate is my ideal choice, but one clearly edges out the other in the issues of highest importance to me.

So I urge folks to vote their conscience as well as to pray for our country, its leaders, and its people.

Here are a few other thoughts on the election, more thorough and eloquent than mine:

Thinking about the election from a Biblical point of view.

Conscience, Christ, and the ballot box.

Election.

Notes on the election for believers.

A Prayer for America on Election Day. (Mohler)

I am going to vote (Piper).

A prayer for the election (Piper).

3 thoughts on “Praying and voting

  1. “Ultimately the only hope for change in a country is in change in the human heart, and that can only be effected by God, not government”.

    Very well put!
    I did vote (absentee ballot a few weeks ago) and I did pray then and I’ve prayed today. I’m going to check out all your links now.

  2. I’m in agreement on all of this. I’ve prayed often today… God is the ultimate authority, the one who allows kings and presidents their positions.

    I hope praying for his mercy and grace for America will ensure that I have peace whatever the outcome!

  3. Pingback: Thoughts about the election « Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

