Friday’s Fave Five

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week, a wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

Another week has just flown by. When will they slow down, I wonder? Here are some highlights of the last week or so:

1. Taking notes in church. I used to do this all the time, but after ending up with stacks of spiral notebooks I didn’t know what to do with, I stopped. But I started up the practice again recently, and it really does help me stay awake, stay focused, and get more from the sermon, even if I never look at the notes again.

2. Grilled ham. This marinade (near the end) makes it some of the best stuff.

3. An impromptu get-together. We had enough ham to share, called my son and daughter-in-law to see if they had plans, they didn’t and came over. Mittu brought a salad, fresh asparagus to grill, and a pumpkin bread and muffin mix from Trader Joe’s that, with chocolate chips and a glaze added, tasted very similar to Harvest Loaf Cake.

4. Lights on the patio umbrella. My husband’s idea, and a nice touch.

5. The presidential candidate’s roasts. Presidential candidates since the time of Kennedy and Nixon have stopped at the Alfred E. Smith Memorial Foundation Dinner and “roasted” or poked fun at themselves, each other, and sometimes the press. It’s usually pretty funny.

Favorites of Romney’s lines:

“I was hoping to see the president would have bought Vice President Joe Biden with him because he’ll laugh at anything.”

“Of course we’re down to the final months of the president’s term. You have to wonder what he’s thinking. ‘So little time, so much to redistribute.’”

“In the spirit of sesame Street, the president’s remarks tonight are brought to you by the letter O and the number $16 trillion.”

“I never suggest the press is biased. They have a job to do and I have a job to do. My job is to lay out a positive vision for the country, and their job is to make sure nobody finds out about it.”

Obama’s best lines:

“I had a lot more energy at our second debate. I was well-rested after the nice long nap I had at the first debate.”

“Tonight’s not about the disagreements Gov. Romney and I might have, it’s about what we have in common – beginning with our unusual names. Actually, Mitt is his middle name. I wish I could use my middle name.”

“Monday night’s debate is about foreign policy. Spoiler alert, we got bin Laden.”

On memories of going to Yankee Stadium, “the House that Ruth Built, although he really did not build that. I hope everybody is aware of that.”

On what he hears often as he goes around the country: “Honestly, we were hoping to see Michelle.”

Happy Friday!

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I haven’t listened to the “roasts” yet. (I haven’t re-set up the speakers on my computer) but I need to listen to these soon.😀

    Yay for an impromptu get-together.

    I find that I always get more out of the sermon when I’m taking notes. I’m not an audio listener but a visual one and so writing things down and seeing the words helps them stick. It means more work for me (or so it feels!) but it’s definitely beneficial. And I don’t do that often enough.

  2. I’ve been filling notebooks again, and this morning I thought that it would be worthwhile even if I throw them all away when I get to the last page. I love notebooks — for notes, journals lists, everything.🙂

    Those are great one-liners!

  3. I’ve recently started keeping a notebook with me to take notes at church and whenever I heard or think of something I want to remember later. It really is helpful!

    Love the one-liners, especially the Sesame Street one.🙂

  4. The roasts ARE hilarious! Thanks for including that. I always take notes in church. It really keeps me focused. Love the lights your husband hooked up!

    Have a great week ahead.

  5. I always have a notebook with me for taking notes during sermons – and it’s useful for jotting down blogging post ideas, too. I get some of my best ideas during sermons!

    The marinade recipe for ham steaks sounds great. i don’t know why but I never considered grilling ham steak before …

  6. What a great idea to put lights under the umbrella !
    I only heard a little bit about the debate in our News. We all hope that Americans take the right decision and vote for Obama. The other one lives in pink cloud !

  7. Love ham steaks. A really nice easy meal. I’ve never heard of the roasts being from Canada do I do try to watch some of the election stuff from your country.

    I’m a definite note taker in church. Training from my high school and college days that has never worn off. I remember so much more that way. I may never look at the notes again but it sure helps my focus when taking them.

  8. Thanks for the excerpts of the “roast” — those were good ones indeed🙂 I like impromptu get togethers, too. Was just talking to my roomie about how different our moms are regarding impromptu anythings. I’m with you on the note-taking. I listen better when I’m writing down notes.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

