Book Review: Full Disclosure

Some years back, my mom’s Christianity was uncertain but she didn’t want to talk about it. But I discovered she would read Christian fiction, so I sought to find the kinds of stories she would like. I wasn’t into action/suspense/mystery books so much, but she liked them. so I looked for that kind of book within Christian fiction, and that’s how I found Dee Henderson. Though I started reading them to pass on to my mom, I quickly became enthralled myself, and devoured all of the O’Malley series as well as the Uncommon Heroes series.

Dee hasn’t had anything new out for 5 or 6 years, so when I saw that Full Disclosure was due out, I quickly preordered it. And I think she has another winner here.

FBI Special Agent Paul Falconer has been on the trail of one case for years: a lady shooter responsible for thirty murders. One day Ann Silver, the Midwest Homicide Investigator, shows up in his office unexpectedly with a lead on the case.

Though the two are mutually attracted, this isn’t a typical romance. Ann is content to be single, not looking to be married, and isn’t sure whether her past or her secrets would allow for marriage. Since Paul is an investigator, he seeks information about Ann before approaching her directly. He is in line to become the head of the Falcon family and its extensive businesses and industries, and his responsibilities, their different locations, activities, job stresses, and personalities, all make a relationship questionable, but he is ready to try. Now he just has to convince Ann, and she has to decide whether she can fully disclose her secrets to him.

Meanwhile there is unexpected and surprising progress on the lady shooter case as well as unexpected development in a case Ann is writing a book about.

I love the several layers to the title, Full Disclosure: one aspect involves Ann, and both cases are progressively disclosed as well. I liked that this was an older person’s thoughtful romance without silly swooning. I liked the realistic way they had to come to terms with their differences, both having to adjust, and the way their Christianity was natural and impacted everything they did. And there is quite a big “Wow, I didn’t see that coming” moment near the end of the book. I think I may have gasped out loud when I came to it.

It has been a long time since I read Dee’s other books, so it took me a while to recognize that some of her other characters are here as well, but it was fun to do so. Small spoiler here: one unexpected twist is that Ann is portrayed as the writer of the O’Malley and Uncommon Heroes books. I wasn’t sure how I felt about that at first, but it was kind of neat to have the stories within a story. And the fact that Ann wrote books based on her friends’ lives but keeps a low profile herself, and the fact that Dee seems to keep a low profile as well (when we lived in SC near a large Christian bookstore that staged several author events, I mentioned that I’d love to see Dee there for one of them, but I was told she didn’t travel much to public events due to an inner ear problem), well, it all has me hmmming, wondering if Ann really “is” Dee or if the similarities are just for fun.

There is a web site for the book here and an interview with Dee here. I give Full Disclosure two thumbs up and five stars.

(This review will also be linked to Semicolon‘s Saturday Review of Books.)

14 thoughts on “Book Review: Full Disclosure

  1. How interesting! I’ll definitely keep my eyes open for it. I saw it somewhere last week and didn’t know the author. Since it had a man and a woman on the cover, I was afraid it was another sappy romance. Glad it isn’t! :o) Thank you for the good review.

  2. I loved the O’Malley series and the Unsung Heroes series Wasn’t crazy about the last couple of stand alones she did but this sounds interesting. Going on my list!

  3. my mother struggles so much with her faith. I wish she would read anything! There are some great messages in some of these Christian fiction books. I am not really into these types of books either but I may have to check them out in the future. Sounds very interesting.

  4. Barbara, I have never read Henderson’s books. So thank you for the review. I did pick up Maiden of Fairbourne Hall from the library at your recommendation — now I just a few spare moments to get started with the book. 🙂

  5. You have a very fun history with this author. I liked hearing how you “found” her and came to like her yourself. I think I’ve read one of her books – though I forget which one. I remember it being suspenseful but my not being overly drawn to her. All the same, it’s still fun to hear about this genre to stay informed. And, again, I liked hearing your history with the author.

  6. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: October 2012 « Stray Thoughts

  7. Pingback: Fall Into Reading 2012 Wrap-Up « Stray Thoughts

  8. Pingback: Books Read in 2012 « Stray Thoughts

  9. Pingback: Top Books of 2012 « Stray Thoughts

  10. Pingback: Book Review: Unspoken by Dee Henderson | Stray Thoughts

  11. Pingback: Book Review: Taken | Stray Thoughts

  12. Pingback: Book Review: Traces of Guilt | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

