Friday’s Fave Five

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week, a wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

It’s been kind of a different week, though not an unpleasant one. I haven’t gotten half done what I wanted to, but did accomplish a few things here and there. Here are some of the favorite parts of the week:

1. Organizing a couple of areas. I started by cleaning out a corner of my drawers where I stuff receipts, and ended up sorting and reorganizing two dresser drawers. And I have a box where I keep gift bags and a bag where I keep tissue paper, and both had gotten disheveled as new things got tossed in, so it was nice to get those organized — I can see better what I have and it doesn’t look messy any more.

2. Dinner made by someone else.🙂 Jason and Mittu came over and made dinner last Saturday — chili, corn chips, cornbread muffins, salad, and pumpkin pie.

3. Choco Peanut Butter Dreams. I tend to crave them during autumn though they are not specifically fallish.


4. Nestling under the covers on cold nights. I tend to get hot at night and have to put feet or hands or shoulders out from under the covers to get comfortable, but I don’t like to sleep without covers of some kind. So these cool nights when I can comfortably tuck everything in are really nice.

5. Hot cereal on cold mornings. I’m the only one in the family who eats it, and I don’t like the instant variety. It was nice to discover I could make one serving of regular cream of wheat in the microwave.

I bought stuff for one of those beautiful fall wreaths with burlap rosettes that I have been seeing all over the Internet. The burlap roses weren’t going so well last night, but I hope to figure them out this weekend.🙂

Have a great Friday!

12 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Hi Barbara,

    I am just now catching up with your blog and the happenings at your end. Thank you for faithfully visiting me and leaving comments. I appreciate that – I always love hearing from you.

    I think you have the sweetest DIL! Oh, I would love someone to make my meals too.🙂

    Have a great weekend.

  2. Congratulations on getting some organizing done – it’s a good feeling! My dh eats hot cereal and I make a big pot, put it in the fridge and just heat up a bowl for him each morning. It stays good for about a week. easier than washing a porridge pot every day!

    I love getting under the covers every night too. So cosy!

    The cookies look delish

    happy weekend!

  3. You reminded me that I should cleaning up drawers ! This morning looking for a little bag filled with toy cars, I found an Easter bunny which I hadn’t seen for two years ! and of course I haven’t found the little bag yet !

  4. Always good to get something organized. There’s something about receipts, though. I think they secretly multiply in drawers and purses. Peanut butter and chocolate is a pretty good pairing🙂 Sounds like you are enjoying the fall weather for sure.

  5. Organizing and decluttering are things I love to do🙂 Can I borrow your dil? I would love a dinner cooked by someone else. Yes, the cooler nights are perfect for a good sleep.
    I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned it, but I have always liked your blog title– a home for the stray thoughts of an ordinary Christian woman.

  6. I love cream of wheat! It’s a comfort food from my childhood. It’s especially yummy with a touch of real maple syrup stirred in.

    I really missed the boat in training my kids to take a night of cooking! Nice that you have a very special daughter in law who will do that!!

  7. Those cookies look delicious! Do you skip the nuts?

    Last night for dinner we had oatmeal with berries/bananas. 🙂 It works for us!

    Does organizing and cleaning have a domino effect in your home? Once I start, I can’t stop…until a child needs me…

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

