Together on Tuesdays Introduction

Annette at This Simple Home and Dorie at These Grace Filled Days have teamed up to create Together on Tuesdays as “a casual way to meet and connect with other women” over the summer. They’ve created a schedule of topics to discuss in order to get to know one another better, and the topic for this first week is introductions.

We’re encouraged to be a little creative in our intros, so I’ll share the top ten things that I would say characterize me.

1. My name is Barbara.I go by “Barbara H.” around the Internet because when I first started blogging there were a number of Barbaras. Please don’t call me Barb.

2. I’ve been married to a wonderful man named Jim for 32 years.

3. We have three boys….really young men now. The oldest two have “left the nest,” one of them is married, and the youngest just graduated from high school.

4. I’ve been privileged to be a stay-at-home-Mom since my first pregnancy.

5. I was a Home Economics Education major not because I was proficient in that area but because I needed all the help I could get. I had always wanted to major in English but at the time Home Ec. seemed more practical.

6. I’m naturally very shy and introverted, but God has helped me to get beyond my comfort zone.

7. I like reading, writing, and some amount of crafting when I have time.

8. I love pink roses and heart-shaped things. I like pastels, especially pink, slate blue, and sage green. I don’t like orange, peach, red, or yellow (except on fall leaves. πŸ™‚ )

9. One major life-affecting and life-altering event in my life was having transverse myelitis almost sixteen years ago. It’s an auto0immune reaction that occurs when a virus attacks the spine, causing one’s body to attack the spine as well as the virus. It was pretty rough the first few years, but now I can function about as well as I need to despite some residual symptoms. I am so thankful for the recovery God has allowed (some do not gain back what they lost at the beginning of TM) and what He taught me through it.

10. The most important thing about me is that Jesus Christ is my Lord and Savior. He graciously led me to Himself when I was 17: you can read more about how that happened here. I am forever grateful.

There is probably much more than you’d ever want to know about me in the 100 Things About Me post I that I did on my one year blogging anniversary and 7 Quirky, Random, Little-Known Facts About Me.

I hope you can join in on at least some of the Together on Tuesday posts! I’m looking forward to getting to know you better.

6 thoughts on “Together on Tuesdays Introduction

  1. πŸ™‚ I hope I have not called you anything but Barbara! πŸ™‚ I was not blogging long before I decided to add my last initial, too. Annette is not a popular name, but there are others out there.

    Now did you ever teach home ec or just learn lots in college? (I hope you were able to learn.) Many schools are removing home ec from their courses. Too many don’t learn at home (myself included)…that is where I learned the difference between dry and wet measuring cups and how to sew a straight line…and break needles. πŸ™‚

    Transverse myelitis sounds life-changing, indeed. Thank you for a being a beacon of light and truth.

    Thanks for linking up! So glad to get to know you a bit better!

  2. because my blog has been made private lately I can’t do these link ups. Folks can’t come visit me as they used to…Loved getting to know you better today! Looking forward to each Tuesday!

  3. I’m snickering at the “Barb” comment! I will remember that and be sure to never use it! πŸ™‚

    I’ve recently been browsing your “Favorite Posts” section and receiving great encouragement. So, thank you for that! I seem to have a lot in common with you, so I know there’s lots to learn over here. πŸ˜‰

    It’s been fun getting to know you better.

  4. I think I knew most everything here too so I guess we have known each other for awhile. I did not, however, know that you dislike being called Barb. (I’m not a fan of shortened names either. My son’s name always gets shortened by people who just ASSUME and I cringe every time!)

  5. So nice to meet you, and what a great listing! It is so great to read and get to know you through it. Can I just say that I have never had to use my last initial, but I have always wanted to? My twin sister’s name is very common and she always HAD to use a last name initial. Oh, how I was so envious. Now, I have to laugh at myself for it, but it is true πŸ™‚ I had wanted to switch majors in my final year of college, but that didn’t seem too prudent given my wedding was coming up and we were moving to another state.

  6. Oh, I missed this. I’ll have to jump on board next week.

    I didn’t know you didn’t like “Barb” but I did know the rest about you. Guess I’ve been visiting you for quite a while! :v) It’s funny but I hate when people shorten my name to Susan but don’t mind to be called Sue.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

