Prayer of Consecration

I’ve loved this song since I first heard it sung in church a few years ago:

Lord of life, sing through me.
Give my heart a melody
So sweet and pure, good and true
That I may offer a song to You.

Come to me and still my fear
Until my song is Yours alone.
Sing through me, Lord of Life;
Make my voice Your own!

Lord of life, pray through me.
Fill my mind with quiet peace
So sweet and pure, good and true,
That I may have only thoughts of You.

Come to me and still my doubt
Until my dreams are Yours alone.
Pray through me, Lord of Life;
Make my mind Your own!

Lord of life, live through me.
Keep my soul in harmony
So sweet and pure, good and true,
That through my living I’ll honor You.

Come to me and still my will
Until my deeds are Yours alone.
Live through me, Lord of life;
Make my heart Your own!

~ Words and music by Deborah Dresie.

The line about having “only thoughts of You” didn’t sit quite right with me at first, because we do have to think of what to get at the grocery store, family needs, etc., and I thought maybe it would be better if it said something like having our thoughts those that would be pleasing to Him. But then I reread the song and saw that that stanza is talking about prayer. Then we do have a great need to focus only on Him and put away distractions.

Unfortunately I couldn’t find a performance of it online, but you can hear clips of it from the Soundforth CD Beyond All Praising or Mary Lynn Van Gelderen’s To the Praise of His Glory.

One thought on “Prayer of Consecration

  1. Thank you for sharing this text. I’ve allowed some circumstances to skew my focus and steal my joy away…and my song. I needed. this.

Comments are closed.