Laudable Linkage

Here are a few things that especially caught my eye this past week:

Treasure In, Treasure Out, HT to Challies. I don’t know anything about R. C. Sproul’s teaching, so don’t take this as an endorsement thereof, but I’ve seen the name and knew his wife recently passed away. The broader theme of this piece is how what we take in affects how we think, and though that is important, I was especially touched at how his wife’s efforts to beautify her home ministered to him even after she was gone.

Two Kinds of Husband Whisperers.

Women Who Go About Doing Good.

This is the time of year some segments of the church as well as some individuals observe Lent. There are some good thoughts on both sides of the issue at On Being a Lentendud and Why Would We Observe Lent? I think the bottom line with this or any other spiritual exercise is to do whatever you do as unto the Lord, thoughtfully and seriously rather than just going through the motions outwardly because it is a certain time of year.

Dating Tebow. Though I cringe at the thought of calling an outing with a 10 year old girl a date, I thought this was a sweet story. Plus it is a good example of ignoring criticism while quietly going about doing good.

Why I Hope Real Books Never Die (And They Won’t). I sure hope they won’t.

If you have a Blogger blog with the new word verification system , please read this, HT to Brenda. Though they seem to have removed the little blobs behind the letters that were making it even harder to read, it is still even more difficult to leave comments. I tried 8 times to leave a comment on one friend’s blog yesterday before giving up and sending her an e-mail.

From Pinterest:

🙂

Love this. I am glad I rediscovered fairy tales!

Very cute, articulate kid:

How to talk to Moms:

How to talk to girls:

“Life is hard. Move on.” Good motto to learn young.🙂 Though I do wish kids weren’t thinking about crushes and such so early.

Hope you have a good day!

2 thoughts on “Laudable Linkage

  1. Re: comments on blogger.

    I know, I know. I’ve received several e-mails instead of comments lately. (One comment I was actually glad to have received via e-mail instead!) I took word verification off for a day to see what would happen with spam. I got a TON of it. (However, none of it actually posted on my blog.) I just got a lot of e-mails about it that day which was kind of annoying!

    That said, I went ahead and took it off again. It isn’t actually giving me fits on other blogger sites. Yes, those words ARE hard to read and sometimes it takes me 2-3 times to get some letters I can actually figure out. But my comment is generally accepted. The blob behind it IS annoying.

    Anyway, all that to say – I took word verification off again so now my spam e-mails can start rolling in….

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

