Friday’s Fave Five

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week,  wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

Wow, it’s hard to believe January is almost over. Here are some of my favorite parts of last week:

1. Mom’s day out. I had some gift cards for Michael’s, which is too far away from us for a casual stop in, so I finally had a day where I could plan to go to there and JoAnn’s, which is nearby. Just down from JoAnne’s is Tuesday Morning, and I had time for a stop in there, too. Found some good deals, had lunch on the go at Chick Fil-A, and then my husband took me out for Mexican food that evening. A fun day overall!

2. Surprise discoveries. While tucking my gift cards away in my purse, I discovered a forgotten JoAnn’s gift card and $20 in an envelope from my last birthday. Sweet! I didn’t think the gift card had much left on it, but after I made my purchase the clerk told me there was still $12 left.

3. Antibiotics and healing. This week I’ve been recovering from what was a worrisome infection. A former pastor used to say God heals “with medicine, without medicine, and sometimes in spite of medicine.”:) I’m so glad for these tools He has allowed men to discover.

4. Kids pitching in. My son and daughter-in-law made some delicious lasagna for us last Sunday, and my youngest son cooked his first meal ever last Monday, and all of them loaded the dishwasher afterward. Jesse ran to the store for some essentials for me, the first time since he started driving that I asked him to do that. He even brought me back some M&Ms.:)

5. A new quilt. I had been looking for one for a long time. The bedspread we had was deteriorating. I wanted something with pink, blue, and green, and kept finding various combinations of those colors but nothing with all three. Finally I stumbled upon this at Tuesday Morning:

It’s still not exactly the shades I was looking for, but it is closer than anything else I’ve seen, and it was inexpensive enough that if I find something I like a lot better, I won’t have any problem storing this for company use.

Bonus: My son Jason, who has been unemployed since Thanksgiving week, starts a new job Monday!

Despite recuperating, it’s been a pretty good week. I could add that receiving a few notes, e-mails, and Facebook posts that people were praying for me was a blessing, too.

15 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Hi Barbara,

    I am glad to hear that despite your foot, your week was okay. Those types of infections seem to get out of hand so quickly, so wahoo that you are on the mend.

    It was great that Jesse did some shopping for you. It was so sweet that he brought back M&M’s.

    How wonderful that Jason starts a new job on Monday. What a relief that must be. Answered prayer like this (especially for our kiddos) IS a FAVE! :)

    I am so bad about spending my gift cards. I ponder and think and fuss because I feel like I have to get the BEST thing with the card. So silly. So glad that you had a fun time shopping and got what you wanted.

    Have a great week of healing, Barbara.

  2. I like to go to Tuesday Morning and TJ Maxx just to browse when I need to get out of the house for a bit. Most of those stores you mentioned are quite near me.
    Have a blessed weekend. I’m glad you’re feeling better.

  3. New jobs are always a blessing! Isn’t it great when the kids are driving and can run those errands for you? I just love it, even if they come home with an extra purchase or two from the store. A great shopping day, especially going to Joanne’s and discovering a gift card. That is the best.

  4. Your new quilt set is beautiful! A bonus that it wasn’t very expensive. I loved your day out too. It’s always fun to get to do your own thing for a day. And praise the Lord for your foot’s healing and for Jason’s new job. It was a good week!

  5. Love that quilt. We need a change from blue and white, but it will require a serious overhaul of the whole room. It’s fun to think and plan though, so thanks for the inspiration.

  6. Congratulations to Jason on his new job! Hope he has the best first day.

    Nice quilt. I’m looking for a good deal on a duvet cover.

    Mom’s Day Out sounds wonderful and bonus finding the gift card and money! Love when that happens.

  7. So glad that you’re beginning to feel better. And hooray for your son’s new job – double blessings!

    Love your new quilt set.

    Glad you were able to enjoy a Mom’s day out – sounds like a great one.

    Happy weekend!

  8. I’m happy to read that you are healing. Thank goodness!

    What a fun day out you had! I think my Michael’s stores should be further away – they are so convenient, I spend way too much money in them!

    That is a lovely quilt! So pretty!

    It is fantastic that your son has found a job! Good for him!

    I wish you a wonderful week ahead.

  9. I’m so glad to hear about your foot doing better and responding so well to treatment. Your day out shopping sounds delightful — finding stuff, using giftcards, eating fun foods:-)

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

