The Week in Words

”"

Welcome to The Week In Words, where we share quotes from the last week’s reading. If something you read this past week  inspired you, caused you to laugh, cry, think, dream, or just resonated with you in some way, please share it with us, attributing it to its source, which can be a book, newspaper, blog, Facebook — anything that you read. More information is here.

Here is my collection for today:

From a post titled Are We Required to Attend Church on the Lord’s Day? via Challies:

The key to a Christian use of the Lord’s Day is not drawing up a list of what can and cannot be done, but to give the whole day to basking in God’s Word, loading ourselves up with the treasures of Christ.

This was similar to the conclusion I came to after seriously encountering Isaiah 58:13-14: “If thou turn away thy foot from the sabbath, from doing thy pleasure on my holy day; and call the sabbath a delight, the holy of the LORD, honourable; and shalt honour him, not doing thine own ways, nor finding thine own pleasure, nor speaking thine own words: Then shalt thou delight thyself in the LORD; and I will cause thee to ride upon the high places of the earth, and feed thee with the heritage of Jacob thy father: for the mouth of the LORD hath spoken it.” It dawned on me that the OT regulations about not working on the sabbath weren’t so much about rest from work, though that was a part of it, but about having a day for God. I’m not going to get into the arguments of the OT sabbath vs. the NT Lord’s Day or OT Jewish regulations vs. NT Gentile practices of the day — that would be another whole post. But the key part of this quote for me was that it points out our tendency to draw up our little lists when instead we need to get to the heart of the matter and do whatever we do as unto the Lord.

This was from Robin Lee Hatcher’s Facebook:

How we spend our days is, of course, how we spend our lives. ~ Annie Dillard

Sounds obvious, yet it’s so easy to think about what we’re going to do with out lives “some day” while forgetting this day’s contribution to our lives.

And finally, from a the Facebook page of a friend who is a teacher:

“To get the best out of someone, you’ve got to give the best of yourself.”

Good reminder for anyone who invests in the life of another…which is all of us.🙂

You can share your family-friendly quotes in the comments below or write a post on your blog and then put the link to that post (not your general blog link) in Mr. Linky below.

I hope you’ll visit the other participants as well and glean some great thoughts to ponder. And don’t forget to leave a comment here, even if you don’t have any quotes to share.

10 thoughts on “The Week in Words

  1. Pingback: WiW: Dangerous Books « bekahcubed

  2. That Annie Dillard quote is great. It’s so true and so easy to forget that oday and tomorrow and every (ordinary) day is the substance of our lives.

  3. Yikes. Week 2 without me having a quote!🙂 I’ll enjoy reading everyone else’s though; I always do.

    “loading ourselves up with the treasures of Christ”
    This hits home with me. I tried to do that yesterday in my teen girls’ class. Gave them a sheet of 30+ promises from God – each one a treasure if they’ll only believe it.

  4. The Lord’s Sabbath Day is not about our doing or neglecting, but,
    about God’s faithful fulfilling of his Word which
    “… God
    “… in these last days .
    “… by his Son
    “… thus concerning the Seventh Day
    “… spake, And
    “… God
    “… by his Son
    “… the Seventh Day
    “… from ALL
    “… HIS works
    “… by his Son
    “… RESTED.”
    Hebrews 1:2 x 4:4.

  5. Here is my quote, Barbara. My friend and dear aunt quoted this verse of a hymn when she addressed my thoughts about my cluttered mind and home:

    “Drop Thy still dews of quietness,
    ‘Til all my striving cease.
    Take from my soul the strain and stress,
    And let my ordered life confess
    The beauty of Thy peace.”

    http://wp.me/pzsXm-j3

    I also lingered on the quote from Annie Dillard. It speaks to my frustration with clutter. Every day matters … on every level.

    You always make me think, Barbara. I love that.

  6. Pingback: WiW: Scared to Pray « bekahcubed

  7. Pingback: WiW: A Line Where Life Breaks in Two « bekahcubed

  8. Pingback: WiW: Bits and Pieces « bekahcubed

  9. Pingback: WiW: Waiting « bekahcubed

Comments are closed.