Still, My Soul, Be Still

Our assistant pastor introduced this song to us several months ago, and I was struck by the richness, depth, and Spiritual base of the words as well as the hauntingly beautiful music.

Still, My Soul, Be Still

Still my soul be still
And do not fear
Though winds of change may rage tomorrow
God is at your side
No longer dread
The fires of unexpected sorrow

God You are my God
And I will trust in You and not be shaken
Lord of peace renew
A steadfast spirit within me
To rest in You alone

Still my soul be still
Do not be moved
By lesser lights and fleeting shadows
Hold onto His ways
With shield of faith
Against temptations flaming arrows

Still my soul be still
Do not forsake
The Truth you learned in the beginning
Wait upon the Lord
And hope will rise
As stars appear when day is dimming

~ Words and Music by Keith & Kristyn Getty & Stuart Townend

No matter what happens in our lives, if we know God, we can “trust and not be shaken” and rest in Him alone.

If you don’t know God in that way, please read this.

“And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent.” (John 17:3).

And may those of us who do know Him not “forsake the truth we learned in the beginning” and rest in Him continually.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

