The Week In Words

”"

Welcome to The Week In Words, where we share quotes from the last week’s reading. If something you read this past week  inspired you, caused you to laugh, cry, think, dream, or just resonated with you in some way, please share it with us, attributing it to its source, which can be a book, newspaper, blog, Facebook — anything that you read. More information is here.

Here are a few that caught my eye:

I saw this at Bobbi‘s in a longer fictitious poem about what Joseph’s (Mary’s husband) point of view might have been at one point in his life. From what I could tell it is by John Piper from the Desiring God site.

There’s something worse than death,
And loss of faith, not loss of breath,
Is what he fights.

Seen at Challies:

I have taken my good deeds and bad deeds and thrown them together in a heap, and fled from them both to Christ, and in him I have peace. —David Dickson

I have trouble with the right perspective of both, and I am glad that my peace is in Christ and not my deeds.

This is the time of year when people make goals or resolutions. The following two might help with that. The first I saw at Simple Mom from a link at A Holy Experience:

“A goal without a plan is just a dream.” ~ Dave Ramsey

And I saw this at Semicolon’s from (From Donna at Quiet Life — I don’t know whether Donna is the one who originally said it or of she quoted someone else.

“A discipline won’t bring you closer to God. Only God can bring you closer to Himself. What the discipline is meant to do is to help you get yourself, your ego, out of the way so you are open to His grace.”

So true. Sometimes we can get so caught up in setting up our disciplines as if so doing will make us right with God, when the disciple is a tool, not an end in itself.

I saw this at nikkipolani’s Friday’s Fave Five:

The bend in the road is not the end of the road unless you fail to make the turn.”

That just really resonated with me with all the changes we’ve faced this year.

Lisa Notes recently shared a link to “Amazing Blogging Lessons From Albert Einstein.” This jumped out at me — Einstein’s words in quotes, the writer’s words following:

“Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value.” Don’t waste your time trying to create a successful blog, dedicate your time creating a valuable blog. If your blog is valuable to others, it will succeed.

And finally, a good hope for the new year, from a friend’s Facebook:

“What heavens are laid up in Jesus! What rivers of infinite bliss have their source, ay, and every drop of their fullness in Him! Since, O sweet Lord Jesus, Thou art the present portion of Thy people, favor us this year with such a sense of Thy preciousness, that from its first to its last day we may be glad and rejoice in Thee.” -Spurgeon (Morning and Evening)

If you’ve read anything that particularly spoke to you that you’d like to share, please either list it in the comments below or write a post on your blog and then put the link to that post (not your general blog link) in Mr. Linky below. I do ask that only family-friendly quotes be included. I hope you’ll visit some of the other participants as well and glean some great thoughts to ponder.

And please — feel free to comment even if you don’t have quotes to share!

8 thoughts on “The Week In Words

  1. Bobbi’s quote resonated with me, too. In preparing to give my testimony to our small group last year, I discovered that out of all the losses I’ve experienced in life, I haven’t lost my faith, and for that I am VERY grateful, because faith in Jesus is the most valuable thing I have.

    You’re so faithful, Barbarah, to give background to where you get your quotes. That is so helpful because I often follow the rabbit trail and read more from your links.
    I really like the quote you found at Donna’s:
    “A discipline won’t bring you closer to God. Only God can bring you closer to Himself. What the discipline is meant to do is to help you get yourself, your ego, out of the way so you are open to His grace.”

    So true! Thanks for starting us off this year with the discipline of sharing great quotes. I’m going to try to get my sister to participate this year. She is the QUEEN of quotes.🙂

  2. Pingback: WiW: A Poor Counterfeit « bekahcubed

  3. Thanks! Once again a very thought FILLED Monday from you. I too enjoy the rabbit trail linkage…thank you for faithfully including it. Happy New Year!

  4. Barbara ~ I so enjoyed these quotes. Goodness, there are so many wise people to benefit from, aren’t there?!

    I, too, especially related to the quote from Donna’s blog:
    “A discipline won’t bring you closer to God. Only God can bring you closer to Himself. What the discipline is meant to do is to help you get yourself, your ego, out of the way so you are open to His grace.”

    I grew up this way … thinking that if I did all the things good Christians did and didn’t do any of the things non-Christians did that I would be a good Christian and find favor with God. Mercifully, God intervened in my life! I did learn than discipline has its place in many areas of life. Now I look at my time at Jesus’ feet as a place I long for, but discipline got me to that place.

    Happy New Year!

  5. I love that final one from Spurgeon. I think that final portion pretty much sums up my heart for this year: “O sweet Lord Jesus, Thou art the present portion of Thy people, favor us this year with such a sense of Thy preciousness, that from its first to its last day we may be glad and rejoice in Thee.”

  6. That discipline thing is so true! I used to have a set time and a set routine for devotion and worship and my spiritual life was in much better order. I miss it, but I can’t seem to find a time that someone doesn’t interrupt!

  7. Pingback: WiW: My greatest idol « bekahcubed

Comments are closed.