The Week In Words

”"

Welcome to The Week In Words, where we share quotes from the last week’s reading. If something you read this past week  inspired you, caused you to laugh, cry, think, dream, or just resonated with you in some way, please share it with us, attributing it to its source, which can be a book, newspaper, blog, Facebook — anything that you read. More information is here.

Here are a few that spoke to me this week:

From In the Company of Others by Jan Karon in a section quoting an old journal (p. 338):

“God save us from Squabble and ill temper which spread in a household like Measles.”

They do, don’t they? Amen.

Seen at Challies:

Glory follows afflictions, not as the day follows the night but as the spring follows the winter; for the winter prepares the earth for the spring, so do afflictions sanctified prepare the soul for glory. —Richard Sibbes

Winter is not my favorite season, but it helps to remember it prepares the earth for spring — and our spiritual winters do as well.

From Warren Wiersbe’s With the Word, commenting on the section in II Samuel 8 about David wanting to build the temple, God saying no, and David then helping Solomon gather the materials to build it:

If God gives your dream to somebody else, help him or her to fulfill it.

It would be easy to feel disappointed or bitter, but how much better to trust in the Lord’s will and enable others to do their part, even if it is the part we dearly wanted. That would please the Lord more than sulking and be a better testimony to others.

From F. W. Meyer’s Our Daily Walk for December 9:

Make as pure in heart, not only in our walk, but in our inward temper, that we may never lose sight of God by reason of the obscurity of our own nature.

Amen. My own nature is what most often obscures my view of God. May I be pure inside and out.

I’ve been marking several quotes from 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning From Spiritual Giants of the Faith by Warren Wiersbe, but I think I will save most of them until I finish and review the book. But I did want to share this one:

All God’s giants have been weak men, who did great things for God because they reckoned on His being with them. ~ Hudson Taylor

So very true.

If you’ve read anything that particularly spoke to you that you’d like to share, please either list it in the comments below or write a post on your blog and then put the link to that post (not your general blog link) in Mr. Linky below. I do ask that only family-friendly quotes be included. I hope you’ll visit some of the other participants as well and glean some great thoughts to ponder.

And please — feel free to comment even if you don’t have quotes to share!

9 thoughts on “The Week In Words

  1. Pingback: WiW: Not Stalled Forever « bekahcubed

  2. Yet again, I find myself at a loss as to what to comment on–so many good quotes. I appreciate Wiersbe’s injunction to help another fulfill the dreams God has allowed another to complete (rather than you). It’s so easy to want to pout when someone else gets to do what we can’t–but what an example we have in David. Mmm. That’s good.

  3. Wonderful quotes, Barbara….I do so appreciate you taking the time to share them with us for they never fail to speak to my heart and spirit. Oh, for a closer walk with Him and to be more like Him is my prayer!

  4. All great quotes–love the one on winter–haven’t heard a quote from Sibbes for ages. All the quotes are good to reflect on. I may just pass some of these on.

  5. The Sibbes quote really speaks to me too. I’ve felt stuck in winter for quite awhile now. But I’m trusting that spring is on the way because God promises it.

    Your quotes always encourage me, Barbara. I’m glad they’re on Mondays which is when I seem to need them the most.

  6. “All God’s giants have been weak men, who did great things for God because they reckoned on His being with them.”~ Hudson Taylor

    Oh my, this is a good one! It makes me think of King David… a real mess in many ways. But he walked intimately with God, and that’s what mattered most.

    Thanks for adding my link. Since we’re out here on the west coast, I’m still in bed when you folks are up and going about your day. I was having my first cuppa and was about to link up when I saw your comment!

    Blessings Barbara,

    e-Mom

  7. The Warren Wiersbe quote is so powerful. A hard thing to do but powerful when walked out. I’m reading a devotional by him right now and the man has a lot of wisdom.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

