Colorlessness

I can tend to be too adversely affected by weather. Oh, not the occasional rainy day, but prolonged periods of cloudiness. I have an especially hard time with winter between New Year’s and Valentine’s Day. The numbing cold, for one thing, but more so the colorlessness depresses me.

I was just reveling in the height of color especially on the hills on the drive to church Sunday. I spent most of the 20 minute drive just drinking in the beauty.

But just two days later, many of the leaves on that same drive were blown off with high winds and rain and the hills were sporting several patches bald of color.

“No!” I thought. “Not yet!”

This morning I came across this in F. B. Meyer’s Our Daily Walk:

There are three things that make Springtide in the soul.

The sense of God’s Presence. We know that He is near, though the woods are bare, the frost holds the earth in its iron grip, and the wind gathers together the dead leaves; but we feel Him nearer when every hedgerow is clothed with flowers, every bush burns with fire, every tree claps its leafy hands, and every avenue is filled with sweet choristers.

The optimism of an illimitable hope. Spring is the minstrel of Hope. She takes her lyre and sings of the fair Summer, which is on her way, Life pours through a myriad channels, and shows itself stronger than death for Spring is victorious over Winter, as good shall prove to be over evil.

The exuberance of Love. Spring is the time of love. The whole creation is attracted by a natural affinity, and love rules in forest and field.

For us, the lesson is clear. Cherish the sense of the Presence of God; cultivate an illimitable Hope; be conscious of a Love flowing towards you and from you. Dwell on the loving-kindness and tender mercy that have preceded and followed you all the days of your life, and for you, too, the wilderness and solitary place will be glad. After all, life is not altogether what circumstances make it. They may be everything that heart can wish, and yet the Frost-King may reign within and east its icy mantle over all; whereas there are men and women who have everything adverse in their circumstances, but because they have Spring in their hearts, they find flowers and songs everywhere.

The rest of this devotional is here under October 27.

Though maybe cheerfulness and exuberant worship comes a little more naturally when the sun is shining and there is beauty everywhere, either in fall or spring, I can rejoice in the unchangeable truths of God’s love and care and Presence and hope no matter what the conditions are. A genuine counting of my blessings puts me back in a right frame of mind. Practically, good music, good books, warmth of family and friends, something of beauty to look at or work on in the home all help stoke the furnace of contentment as well, though I am reminded of biographies I have read where people did not have even those resources, yet still rejoiced in God alone.

Be still, sad heart! and cease repining;
Behind the clouds is the sun still shining;
Thy fate is the common fate of all,
Into each life some rain must fall,
Some days must be dark and dreary.

~ From Longfellow’s “The Rainy Day

9 thoughts on “Colorlessness

  1. Thanks Barbara…a real challenge to my heart today. I was just thinking the same sort of thing the other day. Keeping pictures in my mind of this beautiful color for those gray winter days….keeping God’s character in mind for those difficult days!

  2. Winter is my most unfavorite season of all. It’s cold and miserable. And yes even here in Hawai’i you can tell. Of course we don’t loose the flowers or leaves falling from the trees like they do in other parts but it does get uglier a bit but I’ve just learned that there is beauty in everything if you look and just keep an open mind. I still haven’t figured out how to turn it into warm weather however LOL 🙂

  3. And to think I actually chose to visit the US during this time. But I think it’s got something to do with wanting to experience something totally different from what I have all year round. 🙂

  4. My favorite thing about winter is that it is followed by SPRING!!! I think we all tend toward melancholy on those long stretches of cold gray days… but I enjoy even that… the low times make the high times sO much HIGHER!

    This was a wonderful devotion you shared today! And I LOVE that Longfellow poem! It’s one of my favorites!

    …though I am reminded of biographies I have read where people did not have even those resources, yet still rejoiced in God alone. I am reminded of Paul, sitting in shackles, in a cold probably dank, definitely DRAB, jail cell and writing that he has learned to be content in ALL THINGS. Amazing what loving Jesus can do for us!

  5. Pingback: Retrospective Stray Thoughts « Stray Thoughts

  6. Pingback: Book Review: The Long Winter | Stray Thoughts

  7. Pingback: “The Beauty of the Bone”: Finding Beauty in Bleakness | Stray Thoughts

  8. Pingback: November Musings | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

