What’s On Your Nightstand: October

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read. You can learn more about it by clicking the link or the button.

Wow, I can’t believe it is the last week in October already. The month just flew by.

Here’s what I read since last time:

Her Daughter’s Dream by Francine Rivers, the sequel to Her Mother’s Hope, reviewed here.

The Thorn by Beverly Lewis, reviewed here, the first of a new Amish series about two sisters on different paths.

I’m Outnumbered!: One Mom’s Lessons in the Lively Art of Raising Boys by Laura Lee Groves, reviewed here.

Faithful Women and Their Extraordinary God by Noel Piper, short biographies of Sarah Edwards, Gladys Aylward, Lilias Trotter, Esther Ahn Kim, and Helen Roseveare, reviewed here.

Same Kind of Different as Me by Ron Hall, Denver Moore, and Lynn Vincent, reviewed here, about an unlikely friendship between an art dealer and a homeless man.

I’ve started 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning From Spiritual Giants of the Faith by Warren Wiersbe and A Novel Idea: Everything You Need to Know about Writing Inspirational Fiction (that one wasn’t on my Fall Into Reading challenge goals, — it was on my shelf for “some day” — but I felt a sudden urge to start it) and just picked up Start Somewhere: Losing What’s Weighing You Down from the Inside Out by Calvin Nowell and Gayla Zoz.

Next up: Here Burns My Candle by Liz Curtis Higgs, In the Company of Others by Jan Karon, and something by Agatha Christie — still haven’t decided yet.

Happy Reading!

10 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: October

  1. Most of your reviews I’ve already read and enjoyed, so there’s not much else for me to say… except that I’ll be curious to hear whether the allegedly essential “50 people” are the same ones you would have chosen! You’re pretty well-read in Christian biography.

  2. The Wiersbe title intrigues me as well. I’m not at all well-read in biographies (particularly biographies of faith). That sounds like it might be a relatively simple jump-off for further reading.

  3. I have been wanting to read those Francine River’s books for some time now. Need to get my hands on them!!

    This is my fist link-up for What’s On Your Nghtstand! So glad I found it! I love reading about what others are reading!!

  4. 50 People Every Christian Should Know sounds FABULOUS! I hope you’ll share about that one when you are done reading.

    A friend of mine picked up a copy of Her Daughter’s Dream and offered to loan it to me so I’m looking forward to being able to get to that shortly! Hurray!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

