Booking Through Thursday: Gifts

btt button The Booking Through Thursday question for this week is one I submitted (thanks for using it!):

What books did you get for Christmas (or whichever holiday you may have celebrated last month)?

Do you usually ask for books on gift-giving occasions or do you prefer to buy them yourself?

To answer the last question first, I almost always have books on my “wish list.” I keep a running list of books I might want to read (which has grown exponentially since blogging), and our family likes to work with a list of ideas when a gift-giving occasion comes up, so I peruse that list to see what I might want to add. But when a favorite author has a new book coming out, I don’t usually wait to put it on a wish list — I usually go ahead and get it. I don’t feel too badly about spending the money — it is an investment in entertainment (and we don’t spend much money on entertainment in general), in education and brain stimulation, sometimes in spiritual growth, and I am supporting working artists. 🙂

And though I usually prefer books from my “wish list,” I am not opposed to receiving a book that someone else thinks I might like.

This Christmas I received:

A Novel Idea: Everything You Need to Know About Writing Inspirational Fiction with chapters contributed by Karen Kingsbury, Robin Lee Hatcher, Jerry Jenkins, and others who have been published in this genre. I think about the possibility of writing sometimes, and this looks like a great resource for both inspiration and instruction.

The Tartan Pimpernel, and autobiography of Donald Caskie, “minister of the Scots Kirk in Paris at the time of the German invasion of France in 1940. Although he had several opportunities to flee, Caskie remained there to help establish a network of safe houses and escape routes for Allied soldiers and airmen trapped in occupied territory.” If I remember correctly, I think I saw this recommended by Chris Anderson.

Detour, a non-fiction sequel to Dr. Frau: A Woman Doctor Among the Amish by Grace H. Kaiser (my short review of that book is here).  The doctor suffered a spinal cord injury which left her a quadriplegic, resulting in a reversal of roles with the Amish ministering to her.

Parting the Waters:Finding Beauty in Brokenness by Jeanne Damoff. I first read Jeanne when someone (Janet? Sherrie? I’m sorry, I forgot to note who) linked to her articles “How fiction can powerfully inform the practical application of truth,” part one and part two. Both her insights and her writing style resonated with me, and I wanted to read her book about the drowning accident that put her fifteen-year old son, Jacob, in a long coma.

Where My Heart Belongs by Tracie Peterson, Christian fiction about the struggle the “good daughter” has when her prodigal sister comes home.

Jane Austen’s Little Instruction Book, a “mini-book” compilation of quotes from her books.

Sew Sunny Homestyle by Tone Finnegar. I’ve mentioned others of her books before: I’m delighted to get this one as well.

Sewing In No Time by Emma Hardy. I think I must have seen this recommended while looking at the above book: I don’t remember. But if I am going to do a sewing project, I want a quick one!

I have looked at the last two page by page and seen several projects I want to do, but otherwise I have not read these yet. I am looking forward to them!

How about you? Did you get any books for Christmas?

17 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Gifts

  1. The Tartan Pimpernel sounds awesome! ooo! Ooo! ooo!

    I think this year I’m definitely purchasing more books brand new (at least January has been that way!) to, as you say, support working artists. =) If there is any thing I have no hesitations about spending money on, it’s usually books!

  2. Wow, look at that stack!

    I always love book gifts, but I usually ask for a gift card to either the Christian Book store in town or Chapters. I like the whole experience of going to choose my books and it’s usually a fun outing that involves coffee from the coffee shop at both places and a girlfriend and lots of laughter and discussion. This year I chose “The Silent Gift” by Michael Landon Jr. as my purchase and I had enough left to get a nice pack of notecards. Stationary is one of favorite things so that choice was easy.

  3. You got quite a haul–must have been a good girl all year long for Santa to bring all of those to you! I think I’d really enjoy Jane Austen’s Instruction Book. I’ll have to check into that one for sure!

  4. I only got one book for Christmas – my new Lutheran Study Bible — which HAD I KNOWN… Lutheran’s are tricky! They made their Bibles a wee bit WIDER than most large Bibles! So the large Bible cover that I got doesn’t fit it. And having researched, the only Bible cover that WILL fit it is the one (imagine this) sold by Concordia Publishing made especially FOR the Lutheran Study Bible! It disquiets my heart to know that they did that…

    I also had not actually SEEN this book — only heard about it and the print is a bit smaller than in a normal large Bible (not large print Bible) which I am starting to have trouble with anyway – and so I am going to HAVE to get a pair of magnifying glasses in order to be able to read it! LOL! But once I get my cover and the glasses, I will be happy because it is ESV which is what our new pew bibles are going to be too… and it includes Lutheran based study notes – which will be fun to compare to my NIV Disciples Study Bible. (which I LOVE – but in only 3 years, it’s falling apart!)(probably because I never put a cover on it!)

    Anyway — I STILL have sO many books beside my bed that I have NOT read yet that I did not ask for any other books for Christmas. I am resolved to finish what I have before I buy another single one!

  5. These books sound so interesting!! I received a Barnes and Noble gift card so I will be purchasing some books soon. I did purchase one that I really have been enjoying in my prayer time called, Face to Face. It is scripture put to prayer.

  6. I wish I could take credit for introducing you to Jeanne Damoff, but it wasn’t me! I did love reading her thoughts about Perelandra.

    Thanks for sharing your new books! I’m putting Parting the Waters on my tbr list too.

  7. I didn’t get any books for Christmas. Since I’ve been reviewing so many, I no longer want to get books as gifts. My reading time is quite limited because of that review schedule.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

