Fall Into Reading Wrap-Up

FIR09Medium

With the first day of winter comes…the end of Callapidder Days‘ Fall Into Reading Challenge! Those who participated can write about how they did with the goals they set way back at the beginning of fall. Katrina has a Mr. Linky set up where we can check in with each other.

I completed these books on my original list:

A Surrendered Heart by Tracy Peterson and Judith Miller, third in the Broadmoor Legacy series, briefly reviewed here.

The Missing, second in the Seasons of Grace series by Beverly Lewis, briefly reviewed here.

American Haven by Elisabeth Yates, reviewed just briefly here.

Plain Perfect by Beth Wiseman, reviewed here.

The Heirloom by Colleen L. Reece and Julie Reece-DeMarco, given to me by my friend, Carol, reviewed here.

My Heart Remembers by Kim Vogel Sawyer.

Becoming God’s True Woman edited by Nancy Leigh DeMoss, reviewed here.

Dr. Frau: A Woman Doctor Among the Amish by Grace H. Kaiser, briefly reviewed here.

I did not read:

The Hidden Flame by Janette Oke and Davis Bunn. It just came out this month – I just got it last week and was already into a couple of other books. It’s one of the next ones in the queue!

How To Read Slowly by James W. Sire. I’ve had this one my list multiple times and just keep not getting to it. This type of non-fiction is not my forte, but I am hoping it will help improve what I retain from reading non-fiction. I need to just make time to make myself start it.

My Heart Restored, a Bible study by June Kimmel. I came across another devotional book I wanted to do at this time of year, which leads me to:

I read these books which were not on my original list:

Come, Thou Long Expected Jesus, a compilation of 22 Christmas related essays from authors varying from Augustine and Luther to Piper. I had gotten it at the end of last year after seeing it mentioned on several blogs and just rediscovered it when organizing my bookshelves. I read it in place of the Bible study mentioned above. I haven’t reviewed it yet, but I highly recommend it.

A Vote of Confidence by Robin Lee Hatcher, reviewed here.

Home to Harmony by Phillip Gulley.

Farraday Road by Ace Collins, reviewed here.

My favorite books from the challenge were Come, Thou Long Expected Jesus and Becoming God’s True Woman. My least favorite was Farraday Road.

Usually I try to incorporate a classic novel in my reading, but I didn’t have a particular one in mind, and I wanted to get my TBR shelf cleared off a little, so I went through a lot of the Christian fiction instead, which goes a little faster.

I enjoy this challenge because: it is non-pressurized; it usually causes me to incorporate some things into my reading that I’ve been wanting to read but don’t usually pick up when I am scrounging around for the next book; and I enjoy seeing what others have been reading, though it does cause my TBR list to grow exponentially.

9 thoughts on “Fall Into Reading Wrap-Up

  1. Great job! I love Tracy Peterson. Haven’t read the Broadmoor series yet. Will have to check it out. I have to agree. The great thing about this challenge is it helps me expand my reading and I end up finding new authors and books that are really interesting. Merry Christmas!

  2. I loved “My Heart Remembers” when I read it in the spring. How did you like it?

    Seems like you read quite a few good books, Barbara. And I always enjoy your reviews.

  3. Looks like you read some good ones! I’m going to have to look into this Harmony series, seems to be on a few of the lists I’ve seen. Great job and happy reading in the new year.

  4. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: January « Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

