Booking Through Thursday: Unique Sorting

btt button

There happened to be two Booking Through Thursday questions today, probably inadvertantly. The first one had to do with whether there is a book that “evokes summer” or has a summery feel to it. I don’t really have an answer for that one. But the second question is:

Browsing through my blog, I found a link to this post about the “Sorted Book Project.” Go read it. I’ll wait.

The idea is to take a few books and physically sort them in such a way that the titles make some kind of sense … something that I’ve never quite gotten around to doing and photographing, but which fascinates me.

What title/combinations can you come up with? (Bonus points if you actually assemble the books and photograph them, like in the original post

I think some of the participants didn’t click through to the link and aren’t quite getting it because they are posting about how they have their books sorted on the shelves. The question isn’t asking that: it’s asking participants to put together book titles that have something in common with each other or even tell a story through the titles. My favorite one from the link is the fifth picture (at least it is the fifth at this moment) about the sharks.

This was a fun idea — I could probably come up with a lot of interesting combinations if I didn’t have other things to get to today. 🙂 But here’s what I came up with:

Book sorting project

Book sorting project

(“Tramp” in that title is a verb, not a noun — like marching.)

Book sorting project

12 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Unique Sorting

  1. These are great! The first one makes me want to get outside and go hiking. It was hard for me because most of my titles begin with “The” which makes it hard to piece together something that’s not totally weird.

  2. I would have LOVED to have done this project before I got rid of most of my books. I’ll have to SEE if I can come up with something interesting… but it wOn’t be today! LOL! I think you did really well for spur of the moment! I think you did really well for NOT spur of the moment! 🙂

  3. I’ve seen this idea worked out on some other blogs too. One of these days I’m going to try it myself!

    I like your first pile best. 🙂

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

