Marital Rating Scale

Carrie at Reading To Know recently posted this Marital Rating Scale from the 1930s which she saw at Crooked House.

Marital rating scale

There is an article in Monitor on Psychology about it here. It was developed by a psychologist to help marriages based on interviews with 600 husbands about wives’ positive and negative qualities. I thought it was fun to look at.

This must only be the first page, because there is no way to get a Superior rating even if you scored all merits and no demerits listed here.

I get 7 demerits and 17 merits. I do tend to stay up later than my husband and I’m not as timely as I should be about mending. I wouldn’t have the first clue about how to darn socks. Thankfully curling irons take the place of going to bed with curlers and I don’t wear hose at all any more, much less with seams. But, I agree, if you’re going to wear seamed nylons,  the seams need to be straight. 🙂 I do run late more often than I like — not for lack of trying to get places on time.

I think I’m an OK hostess and can carry on an interesting conversation. Meals aren’t always on time. No musical instruments, sorry! I don’t “dress” for breakfast except for a nightgown and robe, and my house isn’t always what I’d call tidy. It’s not a disaster area, but it’s not squeaky-clean. The kids generally put themselves to bed, though I do have devotions with Jesse at bedtime still. And I think I score ok on the last four items on the merit list — we get up for breakfast and church on Sundays, but I don’t wake him up until necessary.

Funny how it lists the wife being relgious and her and the children going to church. I am glad my husband takes us and doesn’t send us! And though I don’t wear red nail polish, I wonder what was considered wrong with it — probably too bold and racy in those days.

I don’t think I put cold feet on my husband, but it was funny in some of the comments on the other blogs, some thought that was a basic reason for getting married and should be written in the vows. 🙂

I wonder how a similar checklist would read today. I think some things would carry over — being clean, punctual, not flirting, etc., while the hose and nail polish issues are dated. Though we’re a traditional family, I don’t think things like putting the kids to bed belongs to one gender or the other.

There was a test for husbands, too, though this shows only the first half. Though I didn’t check off or tally up the scores, my husband rates pretty well. 🙂 But I could have told you that without a test. 😀

Though it’s fun, I don’t know how helpful this kind of thing would really be. Maybe if a couple was having trouble, this could get them started talking out the issues. But it could start one fault-finding. NO ONE is going to be perfect in anyone else’s estimation: we’re all going to have little foibles. Colossians 3:12-14 applies in marriage as much as anywhere else:

Put on therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, bowels of mercies, kindness, humbleness of mind, meekness, longsuffering; Forbearing one another, and forgiving one another, if any man have a quarrel against any: even as Christ forgave you, so also do ye. And above all these things put on charity, which is the bond of perfectness.

11 thoughts on “Marital Rating Scale

  1. hmmm 1939…I wonder how different it would be if the test was update to reflect today’s world. But it seems to be relevant with the questions is did ask. Since I’m not married I don’t think I need to take the test 🙂 Aloha

  2. It’s definitely a pretty interesting test. Yes, Jonathan was a little perturbed that HE didn’t get any points for taking us to church every week and being the spiritual head of the household! It gives one pause!

  3. Those cracked me up. I scooted over and took a look at the husbands too. Snoring made me laugh out loud. And I have to say I loved the Merit of handing the paycheck to the wife! That one scored a nice 5! ;v)

  4. Well, I guarantee you the seams in my hose are never noticeable! I NEVER wear curlers in my hair! I’ve never once forgotten to darn the socks! I’m always on time and I NEVER flirt! EVER! I haven’t driven from the backseat since I was 3… and I really don’t have a suspicious or jealous bone in my body.

    On the other hand, I’m not even sure what time IS dinner time, I play NO musical instruments, I’ve got a great sense of humor, and I’m nearly always dressed before I get to the breakfast table!

    On the other hand, I DO want to know about this religious wife who lets her hubby sleep IN on Sundays!

    Honestly? I think I have completely FAILED the wife test! I’m not sure I even want to LOOK at the husband test!

  5. Not even the cold feet thing would earn me a demerit, because even though I do it, because when I complain that my feet are cold, Amoeba invites me to warm them on his legs.

    I think it’s hysterical that having straight seams in my hose would have anything to do with the quality of my marriage!

    I don’t play a musical instrument so I am obviously worthless there — even though Amoeba does play one and I never miss any of his concerts.

    And, I couldn’t have children so nobody should have probably married me in the first place.

    Like you with your hubby, I much prefer it that Amoeba attends church with me. In fact, that was on my list of the qualities I wanted in a mate (yes, I made a real list and I asked God to help me find a man with every quality on it — so He sent me an Amoeba!)

  6. Pingback: Of lists and marriage « Stray Thoughts

  7. Wow, thanks for this post – funny, and at the same time, makes me happy that we live in the modern world! Although I think if I wore stockings with seams, my husband would award me plenty of bonus points, whether they are crooked or not!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

