What’s On Your Nightstand: May

What's On Your Nightstand
The folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the last Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and plan to read. You can learn more about it by clicking the link or the button.

Is it the last week of May already?!

I am still working on classic missionary biography To the Golden Shore by Courtney Anderson about Americas’ first missionary, Adoniram Judson. I finished In Trouble and In Joy: Four Women Who Lived for God by Sharon James, a collection of short biographies and writing excerpts of four women: Margaret Baxter, wife of Puritan preacher Richard Baxter; Sarah Edwards, wife of Jonathan Edwards; Anne Steele and Frances Ridley Havergal, both hymn writers, but have not yet reviewed it — hopefully will within the next week or so. I still haven’t reviewed Passionate Housewives Desperate For God by Jennie Chauncey and Stacy McDonald: I decided to go back over parts of it before reviewing it.

My excuse for not getting to these: we had a college graduation, out-of-town company twice, a piano recital, a spring concert, and an annual ladies’ luncheon all within the last several weeks.

I did review The Centurion’s Wife by Janette Oke and Davis Bunn here, and I finished When Love Blooms by Robin Lee Hatcher and reviewed it here.

I’ve just begun Every Now and Then by Karen Kingsbury, third in her series dealing with the lives of a group of people affected by 9/11.

After that I’ll probably read The Secret, new out from Beverly Lewis, and then something from my Spring Reading Thing list.

12 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: May

  1. Those biographies sound pretty hefty to me. 🙂 I would love to learn about Jonathon Edwards’ wife especially — and the hymn-writers.

    What a busy month. You’ve squeezed quite a bit of reading into the few cracks left!

  2. I have Every Now and Then in my TBR stack. I think I am going to try and reread the first two since it has been so long and I don’t really remember anything.

  3. That missionary biography sounds fascinating.

    I haven’t read any Janette Oke in a long, long time. I might need to revisit her books.

    Thanks for commenting on my blog!

  4. The biography of Adoniram Judson sounds very interesting.

    Currently, what’s on my nightstand is “Washington’s Lady” – a historical novel on Martha Washington.

  5. I didn’t know Beverly Lewis had a new series out. I really enjoyed the Abraham’s Daughter series.

  6. I’ve read The Secret and the Centurion’s Wife, both were good. I just put When Love Blooms on reserve at the library. I can’t wait to see what you think of Courtney Anderson’s book since it would be one I’d have to purchase.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

