Barnabas award

I hadn’t planned to be AWOL yesterday, but it turned out to be a good thing. I needed to focus on tasks for the week. This is the time of month I work on our ladies’ newsletter/booklet, but my “work week” is cut short because Jesse has a basketball tournament Friday and Saturday. Usually I am finishing up late Friday afternoon (no matter when I started), but I need to finish up Thursday this week, and I was almost a little panicky about it yesterday morning. But after prayer and some work I have a good chunk of it done and have a plan of action for the rest (that’s half the task right there.)

barnabas_edited-1-300x158Lizzie at A Dusty Frame has created a Barnabas award for the encouragers in her life and has graciously bestowed it on me, saying here, “I appreciate Barbara’s godly words. I appreciate how she speaks the truth in love all the time.” I told her I only wished I could say I speak the truth in love all the time! That’s one really nice thing about online communication — there is time to think and reflect and pray before responding. But I am so glad the Lord uses flawed vessels, and so glad to have been used in Lizzie’s life. The Lord has used her in many ways in my life as well.

The rules are as follows:

*Link back to the person who gave you the award.

*Use Lizzie’s graphic (leaving her blog address on it)

*Share it with anyone who encourages you whether or not their blog is “spiritual”.

*Share this explanation

“Barnabas worked with the Apostle Paul.

We remember him for his encouragement and generosity. In this spirit, I’d like to let you know that you are a Barnabas in my life. Thank you!”

Knowing who to give this to is the hard part. Everyone who reads and comments here is an encouragement to me. But to single out just a few, I would like to pass this award on to:

My friend Carol, who doesn’t have a blog, but is one of the most encouraging people I know.

Melli at Insanity Prevails. Her merry heart and cheerful spirit are a balm, and she takes the time to write thoughtful, personal comments. I know if I had a serious problem and needed someone to talk to, she would listen earnestly and give her best advice.

Sammie at Bears in Exile writes thoughtful, personal comments as well, and has an uplifting, encouraging spirit.

Susan at By Grace. I don’t remember quite how Susan and I found each other, but I feel she has been a kindred spirit since day 1. We are at similar stages in life, and I appreciate her blog’s showing a life lived for the Lord in all the little everyday tasks as well as the big ones.

Jewel at Down In My Little Valley has one of the most encouraging spirits I have ever known. Visiting with her on her blog or mine has the effect of a spiritual pat on the back. You just feel like you’ve been hugged whenever you’re around Jewel.

Alice at the appropriately named Hello, My Name Is Alice has been one of my earliest and most frequent commenters. She often writes cheerful and encouraging comments, and we share a love of books.

Susanne at Living to Tell the Story also comments frequently ad has a kind, supportive spirit.

I am sure there are others I could list, but these stand out in my heart today.

7 thoughts on “Barnabas award

  1. Awww! Ya shouldn’ta oughta done that! Thanks for your friendship, and if I’ve encouraged you in any way, praise the Lord. He knows just what we need, when we need it, and whom to use to provide it.

  2. Awwwww… Thank you. 🙂 I would indeed be here if you ever needed to talk to me. I don’t know how good of advice I pass out… but I do have a willing listening ear. You were very sweet to think of me! I LOVE that you think I have a “merry heart” — no one has EVER said THAT to me before! I have several people I would turn this award back to — but like me, most of them don’t really do awards… But I would certainly turn it back to you! So there – now you can have two! I learn so much from your spiritual views… you bring so much to my mind that I would not think of by myself!

  3. Well, I’m sitting here with tears in my eyes. See what you did? *little grin* Thank you, Barbara. I really appreciate your thoughtfulness. It came at a very needful time. ((HUGS))

  4. So deserving of the reward are you, Barbara and I agree with Lizzie, you do speak the truth in love!

    Thanks for passing it to me. It’s very humbling but I’m glas I have encouraged you in some small way!

  5. Barbara, you are definitely deserving of this award! I’m humbled and honored that you chose to pass it along to me. Your friendship is one of my longest online, and your blog never fails to encourage me, make me smile, or teach me something along the way! Thank you!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

