Book Review: Peculiar Treasures

I had enjoyed all of Robin Jones Gunn‘s Sisterchicks series, so when I saw a new release from Robin titled Peculiar Treasures, I picked it up.

If I had realized it was a continuation of the Christy Miller series, aimed, I think, at teens and younger women, I probably wouldn’t have picked it up since I am not in that target audience. But I am glad I did. It was a good story, plus it was a reminder of the kinds of things women that age face.

The story opens with Katie’s maid of honor duties at Christy’s wedding. Katie has just finished her junior year of college, has summer school classes, a part-time job, an “almost boyfriend,” an almost-rival, an offer for a new job and level of responsibility, questions about her major and direction in life, hurts from the lack of involvement and care from her parents an incredibly busy senior year ahead, and adjustments to make as one friend has just gotten married, another friend and her husband are expecting their first child, and another friend is out of the country.

How did any of us ever survive that time of life?

But Katie survives and thrives, growing and learning along the way with grace and humor.

I think this book is not only good for women in this age group but also for any of us who have women in this age group in our lives. It’s a good reminder for those looking back and an encouragement for those looking ahead that God’s grace is sufficient for even the busiest seasons of life.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Peculiar Treasures

  1. Hmmmm…. I would enjoy it, more than likely. Does it WOMP ’em over the head with religion? I’m just trying to decide if my youngest daughter would read it… religion has to be “subtle”. As in barely noticeable!

  2. That’s hard to say — I don’t think so, but then I like the Christian aspect of it. I mean, it’s there — the girl is a Christian, all her friends are, she goes to a Christian college and tries to live her life by Christian principles. If you have a Christian bookstore nearby you might thumb through it and see.

    One good use Christian fiction had for my unsaved loved ones is seeing Christian people in real everyday life situations. I think it helped them to understand me a little better. Besides, of course, the spirutal input they would get from the books themselves.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

