Show and Tell Friday: Shepherd picture

show-and-tell.jpg Kelli at There’s No Place Like Home hosts “Show and Tell Friday” asking “Do you have a something special to share with us? It could be a trinket from grade school, a piece of jewelry, an antique find. Your show and tell can be old or new. Use your imagination and dig through those old boxes in your closet if you have to! Feel free to share pictures and if there’s a story behind your special something, that’s even better! If you would like to join in, all you have to do is post your “Show and Tell” on your blog, copy the post link, come over here and add it to Mr. Linky. Guidelines are here.“

Way back in March, I posted a drawing portraying the Good Shepherd hugging the lost sheep who was found and asked if anyone knew the artist or anything about it. A commenter provided a link to the full-color print by artist Katherine Brown. I had seen this years ago and loved the truth it portrayed as well as the expressions of both shepherd and sheep.

Well, my husband saw that post, and, unbeknownst to me, ordered it and gave it to me for Mother’s Day last May. He also printed the words to the hymn “That One Lost Sheep” which I had referenced on a previous post.

Shepherd

Though I loved the print and loved his thoughtfulness, I also wrestled with whether such a print was a violation of the second commandment about not making any graven images. I hadn’t thought of it when I saw the small image online, but for some reason seeing it big and full color, that came to mind.

My husband had thought the picture was just of a shepherd and didn’t realize that it actually represented Christ — he didn’t notice the nail prints at first. He said he thought it was ok, but if I felt uncomfortable with it, it would be fine to send it back.

I rolled it back up and put it in the mailing tube to keep it safe and thought about it off and on.

I read over the passage where the second commandment of the ten is contained in Exodus 20:

4 Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth.

5 Thou shalt not bow down thyself to them, nor serve them: for I the LORD thy God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the third and fourth generation of them that hate me;

6 And shewing mercy unto thousands of them that love me, and keep my commandments.

I felt that, if we took it to mean we shouldn’t make images of anything in heaven, we also shouldn’t make any likenesses or images of anything, really, the way the verse reads. But just a few chapters later, the Israelites are told to make cherubim out of gold whose wings were to cover the mercy seat in the tabernacle (Exodus 25) and curtain hangings with designs of cherubims woven in (Exodus 26). So the verse in Ex. 20 must not mean that people aren’t to make any images or likenesses of any kind whatsoever. Verse 5 of Ex. 20 seems to indicate the main idea is not to worship or bow down to those images or likenesses.

I tossed out a question about it on a Christian message board, and one man said he didn’t feel we should have pictures of Jesus because we don’t know what He looked like — I guess maybe he felt any representation would then be a false one. But to me it’s better that way: if we truly knew what He looked like, people might be more tempted to venerate the picture in a wrong way. The point of this picture is not to show what someone thought Jesus looked like, but rather to portray the truth of the love the Good Shepherd had for His sheep, the relief that it was found, and the contentedness and safety of the rescued sheep in the Shepherd’s arms.

So, with all of that in mind, I decided to keep it. My husband had also given me a gift card to Michael’s to get it framed, and they have weekly 50% off coupons for framing, so I took it in a couple of weeks ago. I just got it back today! I should wait til I have it properly hung to show it. I just took the picture down that was above the fireplace and put this up to see how it would look. I want to put the framed hymn next to it or near it somehow. I’ll have to wait til Saturday when Jim can help me with it. But I wanted to go ahead and show what it looks like:

Shepherd picture

And here is the hymn:

That one lost sheep

I’ll put the words for you here:

That One Lost Sheep

Safe were the ninety and nine in the fold.
Safe though the night was stormy and cold;
But said the Shepherd when counting them o’er,
One sheep is missing, there should be one more.

Although His feet were weary and worn,
And though His hands were rent and torn,
Although the road was rocky and steep,
Still the good Shepherd searched long for his sheep.

There in the night He heard a faint cry
From the lost sheep just ready to die.
Then in His arms to shield from the cold
He brought the lost sheep back safe to the fold.

The Shepherd went out to search for the sheep,
And all through the night on the rocky steep
He searched till he found him,
With love bands He bound him,
And I was that one lost sheep.

— Seat

28 thoughts on “Show and Tell Friday: Shepherd picture

  1. The picture is lovely and the matting and frame accent it perfectly!

    I am impressed with your diligence in researching and confirming your understanding of the scriptures.

    How sweet of your husband to find the print for you! I know you will enjoy t

  2. Barbara, it is truly worthy of a “show and tell” and completely worthy of your commitment to finaly place it on the wall to share with others every day.

    I am honoured to have read your post today

    Lee-ann ~ In Australia

  3. I learned alot about you by reading this post. It is my sincere belief that there should be no images of Christ or God the father. Why? Because people tend to worship them. Perhaps they don’t mean to. Think about it this way: you see a statue or painting of Jesus, and whisper a prayer. As long as you are never doing this, then you aren’t worshipping the image. That’s my outspoken opinion, anyway.

    This was such a loving gesture by your husband! And such loving gesture by you toward the Lord that you struggled about this! It is beautiful. I’m glad that you shared this today.

  4. What a beautiful reminder of our Savior who is indeed the shepherd who loves his children and the one is important to Him…..I have a similar picture…..thanks for sharing….

    I added to my show and tell since last night if you are interested in returning……Blessings …..Betty

  5. It’s a beautiful picture!! And a wonderful story. The fact that you put so much thought into whether it was ok or whether it violated the second commandment says so much about you Barbara. Thank you for sharing!!

  6. Thanks for stopping by to see my show and tell, too!

    I have had the same thoughts you described here, but I’ve never heard anyone else say the same thing. So, now I feel more “normal!” Like everything else in the Christian life, discretion and discernment are required.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Jen

  7. It is good to get something framed so you can enjoy it.

    I read a book a while back, called “A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23″by Phillip Keller. Your print reminds me of that book!

  8. There really is something special about that picuture. How blessed you are that you got it as a gift from your husband!

    Thank you for sharing!

    Best wishes from Germany,
    Anita

  9. What a wonderful surprise gift. I am glad you decided to keep it and hang it up.

    Growing up we had a picture of Jesus on a piece of wood hanging in our home. We all knew it was not really Him, but it was comforting none the less.

  10. I love this picture. I have it myself only it was done in pencil. It is hanging in my living room.
    Blessings and thanks for sharing the poem I had not heard that before.
    Blessings

  11. Pingback: What do you love about your home? « Stray Thoughts

  12. Pingback: Saturday Photo Scavenger Hunt: I love _____ « Stray Thoughts

  13. Pingback: Knowing God, Chapters 3 and 4 | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

